Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1978 300d
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, i have a '78 300d..i've been on the w123 forums for a while and now this is my first time posting here, i thought people on this forum might be able to help me out. i realize that a diesel is just a little too slow and finicky for my first car, so i'm hoping to sell tomorrow. i can't go long without a car due to school and work so i'm browsing CL for another car when i stumbled upon this:

Mercedes 280

i emailed the seller and he said it's negotiable. i've done research and the c280 seems like a decent car, can anyone here give me firsthand advice? how's the gas mileage? is 104,000 miles alot for a car like this? how is it in the winter and is it an all-around reliable car?

basically, i'm asking what sort of things to expect switching from a 300d to a c280. thanks! :D

·
Registered
1996 C280
151 Posts
well, i have a '78 300d..i've been on the w123 forums for a while and now this is my first time posting here, i thought people on this forum might be able to help me out. i realize that a diesel is just a little too slow and finicky for my first car, so i'm hoping to sell tomorrow. i can't go long without a car due to school and work so i'm browsing CL for another car when i stumbled upon this:

Mercedes 280

i emailed the seller and he said it's negotiable. i've done research and the c280 seems like a decent car, can anyone here give me firsthand advice? how's the gas mileage? is 104,000 miles alot for a car like this? how is it in the winter and is it an all-around reliable car?

basically, i'm asking what sort of things to expect switching from a 300d to a c280. thanks! :D
the best advice anyone can give you would be to take it to a mechanic with experience working on Mercedes and have him do a pre-purchase inspection.