Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2009 C 300 Sport, 20K miles, Wife drove home from shopping yesterday and said something on the road hit the windshield. It made a small "ding" on the windshield and started to run. When I looked at it , it was a small star burst on right side lower 1/3 position, about 4 inches from the right A-pillar and ran a hair line horizontal to the left. The total length is about 7 inches. I contacted the insurance company and they suggested repair first at no cost, if not repairable or not happy with it, then replace with $500 deductible. I have no experience with windshield repair at all. Is the end result acceptable?? safe??
I looked at some videos on U-tube but none of them shows how the finished product look like. I can choose to replace the windshield but the thought of tempering with the factory seals at this early age, etc. Advices/suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2012 E350 :-) 2002 E320 (sold)
432 Posts
Here is a short video on repairing cracks. If it was my windshield with a crack, I would replace it. If it was just a small starburst, then I would get it fixed.

·
Registered
2008 C300 Sport
110 Posts
Having it repaired is safe and it's hardly noticeable (you can still see the crack if you really look at it). There are $5 kits that you can purchase and do the repair yourself, so it is relatively simple and inexpensive (much better than paying a $500 deductible). A good analogy is if you have a nail in your tire. Would you rather patch it or replace the entire tire every time it happens?

Whatever decision you go with, do it as soon as possible before the crack begins to spread. You won't have the option to repair it when the crack gets too large.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4