Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I have an issue with my 2004 CLK 500. When I try to put the convertible top down, it opens about 20% of the way, but the compartment door that is close to the trunk does not open, it pulls open about 2 inches, but does not go up. So a thought came to my head to unplug the power to the battery, I did that, after reconnecting, the top opens completely 1 time, when I close it, that's it, same issue persists, doesn't open all the way after that. I did the battery pull again, same issue, opens 1 time completely, and stops working again after that first time.

Not sure what the heck could be wrong, this tells me the hydraulic is working fine. Also, checked the hydraulic fluid level, its half so I know there aren't any leaks.

Can anyone else think of a way I can troubleshoot this or know how to fix this problem?

Thank you for reading, hope to hear soon from ya.

Moe
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,043 Posts
The easiest way to solve this problem is to hook up SDS and read the codes for the soft top system. My guess is that you have a bad or dirty limit switch.
 

·
Registered
2005 CLK500 Convertible
Joined
·
7 Posts
I had similar symptoms.
I had a problem with the trunk divider. It would move a little bit and send a signal that there was something in the trunk and the top would stop.
I did a temporary fix by putting a bungee cord between the divider and the trunk latch opening near the back. The dealer replaced the gas struts and all was well.
You can test if this is your problem by putting a bungee cord on the trunk divider to hold it in the open position.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,043 Posts
When the luggage partition cover is not completely closed, you generally get a message on the MFD stating that is the case. Bad limit switches, such as those on the cover, don't give specific error messages on the MFD, but will store errors readable by SDS. Without pulling the actual codes, it's going to be a lot of trial-and-error. The OP has already checked the fluid level and eliminated hydraulic fluid leakage, which is a good first step. My next trial-and-error step would be to check all the limit switches, maybe hit them with a blast or two of compressed air or even electronic contact cleaner:

http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/bow limit switch top_bottom.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/bow locked limit switch.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/compartment cover opened limit switch.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/compartment lid switch group.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/limit switch in catch position.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/lock limit switch.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/switch group open_closed.pdf
http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/trunk luggage cover limit switch.pdf
 

·
Registered
2006 CLK500
Joined
·
34 Posts
I had similar symptoms.
I had a problem with the trunk divider. It would move a little bit and send a signal that there was something in the trunk and the top would stop.
I did a temporary fix by putting a bungee cord between the divider and the trunk latch opening near the back. The dealer replaced the gas struts and all was well.
You can test if this is your problem by putting a bungee cord on the trunk divider to hold it in the open position.
The gas struts were my problem and once I replaced them it all worked again.:thumbsup:
 

·
Registered
CLK 209 2004
Joined
·
2 Posts
Very frustrated

I have looked around the threads for the soft top switches to find which one is first in the order for opening the roof.

My problem is that the roof will not start to open and visit workshop is on the dash. If i unlock the roof with the allen key I can open all the way and close all the way using the button, so I guess that the first limit switch is the culprit to this issue?

I have looked at all the switches and hear that they all click, added contact spray where possible.

Regards
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,043 Posts
So all you have to do is manually unlock the windshield latch and everything then works properly? In that case, I'd check the Lock Limit Switch (http://benzbits.com/w209/soft_top/lock limit switch.pdf). It could be that or it could also be a bad lock cylinder that is too weak to unlock.
 

·
Registered
CLK 209 2004
Joined
·
2 Posts
I held that switch whilst operating the roof and it will unlock and open so I'm guess that the switch works? I will get a multimeter today to test.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Can someone help me I'm getting the error message top operation only in standstill on my w209,top did work but not sure what's wrong with it,thanks in advance
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,043 Posts
I assume the car is not moving, right? If you are getting this message even when stopped, then the soft top controller is getting a bad speed signal. It could be a bad controller, or it could be that you have some wiring issues. You mentioned in your PM to me that you had an aftermarket sound system installed. If they worked in the trunk, they certainly could have damaged or disconnected some wiring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
How would I check if it's a bad speed signal,was giving me the same problem before the aftermarket system n also it's a salvage car so it has some problems
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,043 Posts
I'd start with a proper diagnosis using SDS (dealer's Star Diagnosis) or a tool that can read system beyond the ECU (iCarsoft i980 is a good one). The soft top controller has diagnostic codes that might tell us something. The speed signal is sent via the CAN bus. If the soft top controller can't communicate via the CAN bus, then you'd have several other issue - like the seat belt extenders not working when a door is opened, etc.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top