Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2002 E55 AMG
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2002 E55 - 18" monoblocks.

Yesterday, I noticed that my right rear tire was VERY low. Limped to the service station - had about 15 lbs in the tire. Refilled to 48 lbs. Checked and rechecked a few times. Have watched closely since and tire pressure is keeping constant. Still full 24 hours laters.

What happened? I am new to low profile tires - what would have caused the loss of pressure and not be a constant leak?

Sidewalls of the tire are a bit dragged up now - guess I have to watch that closely now. Kills me to have one bad tire, but what do you all think?

MRB

·
Registered
Oo == oO 98 E320
674 Posts
Have you an ex-girlfriend who stills has an insurance policy on you?

·
Registered
2002 E55 AMG
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Panel on the door says 41 lbs in front - 48 lbs in rear.

Your reactions suggest that is very very high for these tires.....is this folklore v. specs or am I (probably) not aware of something important (and life preserving)?

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
you have a nail or some other defect in that tire that's causing slow air leak. check in a week or so and it'll be low again.

if you drive any fast in your E55 (who doesn't with a E55?), just replace the tire

·
Registered
2000 E430 Sport
343 Posts
Same thing happened to me...

I was going by what was on the driver’s door frame instead of what was inside the gas / fuel filler door. Big difference.

Also had tires filled with nitrogen - no problems with air since as nitrogen is much less susceptible to temperature change...

I still check regularly though (every week or two) - as the W210's ride/fuel quality will quickly diminish with tire deflation.

·
Registered
2000 E55 AMG
577 Posts
MRB1717 said:
Panel on the door says 41 lbs in front - 48 lbs in rear.