Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
'78 240D 4-speed greasel
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Complete Restoration + turbo 617 & 4-speed swap

I'm a full-time graduate student hoping to finish my thesis and and graduate by December; as if that wasn't enough pressure I also want to completely restore my '78 240D.

I've posted a couple threads about this project so far but my situation keeps changing.

As of now I decided to nearly do a ground up restoration and am currently in the process of completely stripping it down to be media blasted. So far I have everything out except for the suspension, engine and trans, and the rats nest of tubes, hoses, and wires under the dash. The engine and trans are coming out tomorrow and I am carefully trying to remove the wiring harness.

I bought a rusty-beyond-hope low mileage '85 300D. I want to match the turbo 617 to my original 4-speed and also swap the dash and entire interior (dash, carpets, seats, pillars, everything except the headliner).

I also want to use the wiring harness from the '85 which seems like the most daunting part of this project for me.

So...here are the questions I have as of now.

1) Has anyone ever removed/replaced their entire wiring harness? and if so do you have any tips or concerns :)

2) Will it be possible to keep my old-type climate control system?

3) The '85 parts car has electric windows. Should I go electric or keep the manual?

4) Am I absolutely insane?! * insert positive encouragement below ;) *

Attachments

·
Registered
1981 W123 300D non turbo, 1992 190E 1.8 <=> 2.0
6,561 Posts
Are you mad? Yes you are - in fact yes we are! I've stripped my chassis to nothing.

My W123 saloon / sedan old accident repair (and a bit of rust repair) thread - PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum

It looks like you are going to beat me to it though. I've got loads of other stuff going on at the moment which means I'm getting about 0 hours a week on the project.