Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here, been lurking and working on my new to me 1986 300e with only 60,000 miles. I am having cold start issues. I pulled the cold start valve and it will give a little squirt when first cranking over then nothing. That would coincide with my cold start issues of when I first crank over it almost starts then I have to turn the key off and crank again and after about 6 seconds it will start. I pulled the fuel line off the valve and fuel sprays everywhere when I crank it so I think it is isolated to the valve or electrical. I do see power to the electrical fitting when cranking.

I had a shop owner tell me he has only replaced one cold start valve in 26 years and that it is usually something else. So I am looking for some advice. You guys are great, this forum is the only reason I bought an old Mercedes.

Oh, and I did do a full tune up, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, oil change, fuel filter change. And the person I bought the car from said the shop cleaned out the fuel tank and lines after it had sit for 5 years. I must say, there was some brown crap that came out of the old filter when I blew on it over the trash can. I also put in a new OVP and voltage regulator.

·
Premium Member
10,115 Posts
It's important that the temp sensor that works the cold-start system is 100%. The older ones could be tested with an ohm meter, the newer ones I'm told, cannot. If it's an original sensor, it would be good form to replace it anyway. It's all the way back towards the firewall, on the top of the head. Newer ones have a four prong plug to them. After that, I would check out my fuel pump(s) pressure and replace the pump(s) check valve(s) just as a matter of course.

None of the suggestions above are just 'throwing parts' at the problem, as they should be done/checked anyway. You have to establish a baseline when you're hunting down fixes.:thumbsup:

Kevin

·
Registered
26 Posts