Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
2000 CLK 430 cabriolet
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 CLK 430 convertible. Top goes down perfectly. Windows lower, top goes in compartment propertly, chime sounds. Going up all is fine until top latches in rear and I latch front. Then windows won't go up, button stays lit (does NOT flash) and no chime. Oh, and you can't open the trunk with the interor switch or key fob. Only open trunk with key (thanks to other posts for helping me figure that one out!) I am more mechanically inclined than most, and do most repairs myself, though I am no mechanic. Please help without sending me to the stealership!

·
Premium Member
2004 CLK 240 Coupe
11,370 Posts
Hi Tim

Would you please fill in your profile with UserCP ^^^ at top of the page as your model/engine size/style/location often helps our answers here.

We discussed cabrio roof problems on the W209 forum last year. I don't know how similar the soft top control system is between the W208 & W209, but they will not be too different.

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w209-clk-class/1556663-w209-soft-top-problem.html

See also the threads referred to in the links on post #2. as you will get a good idea of the 'stages' of control, and the number of switches used.

My guess is that one of these 'limit-switches' is faulty or mis-aligned. I'm sure that they can be slightly re-positioned. You just have to work out which one it is....:)

·
Registered
2000 CLK 430 cabriolet
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick response. that's what I'm figuring, that it's some limit switch/sensor. I looked at the links/pdf's you referenced too. my guess is