Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1991 560 SEL
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, context before I dive into my question: I have a '91 U.S. (California) spec 560 SEL in solid shape. I'm an avid student of H.D.'s posts (printed out and annotated in my service notebook!) and have a good working understanding of the KE Jetronic system and components. I'm able to do just about all of the core KE test procedures that don't require super specialized tools, i.e., I can do fuel pressure testing; measuring duty cycle, current, and voltage for various components; read codes at the blinky-blinky box (aka X92); etc. I have all the service manuals.

I haven't been able to locate a root cause for the following issue: during the "warming-up" phase, roughly between 55-70 degrees C on the coolant gauge, the car shows significant hesitation during part-throttle acceleration. The car runs beautifully in the preceding and subsequent modes: starts easy, "start-up enrichment" phase is fine and the car drives normally till around 55 degrees, then falls off a cliff during about 55-70 degrees, and then drives right again when it hits 70 degrees (i.e. halfway between the 60c and 80c marks). When it hits that 70c mark, it's like a light switch - full power instantly comes roaring back and all is well. During the problematic 55-70c phase, the car idles normally and starts to roll fine, but then any moderate throttle application is met with crazy hesitation and a bit of surging. If I push through to near WOT during this 55-70c phase, the car wakes up and goes.

So, what's going on here? I haven't been able to find in the service manual a detailed description of the "warming-up" phase specifically, so I'm unclear on what's suspect. The light switch-like change back to normal when the car hits 70c tells me there's something electronic that's malfunctioning or getting a false signal, and whatever that thing is is shut off or enters a different mode at 70c.