Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1981 380SL
397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Back in April, I did the chain job. Replaced the chain, tensioner, upper guides along with things like cam oiler plastic bits and some gaskets, etc. cam gears looked to be in great shape, and not original (it’s still a single row).

hearing some slap (maybe) when I’m starting up the car on cold mornings. it’s my daily, and has been for two years, so it’s a little concerning.. maybe a junk tensioner? I feel relief knowing the chain and guides are new, but it’s still not a nice sound to be hearing every morning!

·
Registered
1988 560SL
70 Posts
I don't want to suggest what's normal, because I am still learning, but for clarification, do you hear the slap every cold start, or just after the car has been sitting for a few days? I replaced my guides, tensioner and oilers (the chain was still in spec for stretch) back in the summer, but if I let the car sit for 5-6 days I do hear a little slap for 3-5 sec on cold start. I used a febi tensioner, and have come to understand that may not hold the oil as well as the genuine MB, so I'm assuming my symptom is due to tensioner letting it's oil out while sitting for a few days. I also daily drive my car, so it's pretty rare that it sits long enough for me to hear the few sec of slap, so I'm considering that OK (knowing that I have new/non-brittle guides). I'd probably be concerned if I heard the slap every day on cold start.

·
Premium Member
1986 560SL with M120 V12 Engine, 1988 560SL Stock
9,867 Posts
Did you replace the lower tension rail. If not that is your problem.

·
Registered
'79 450SL, '04 CLK200 convertible; former A124, W210, A209.
1,389 Posts
Based on others' experience the issue you're describing is quite common with Febi or Swag chain tensioners. I tried a Febi tensioner but gave it up after 2 mins as the chain started slapping.

·
Registered
'80 450SLC Afro RHD Ikonengold
2,884 Posts