Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
05 w463 G55, 2008 w251 R500
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am looking to update my car to "look" as new as possible. I have a USA 05 g55. I already replaced the lights with the depot xenon lights. Now I am wondering if I can just purchase a newer 07+ g55 instrument cluster (has separate white faced speedo, tachometer, etc) and plug it into my current car?

I'm wondering if the wiring/plugs are all the same? Would I need star diag to configure anything? Would it just be plug and play? Or would I need to splice wires and update the computer?

anyone try this? any advice would be appreciated.

looking at epc, the new instrument cluster is 4635406611 while my old one is 4635403611
 

·
Registered
2006 G55k - garage queen, 2010 G55k -daily beater
Joined
·
326 Posts
great question. i hope we can find this out. Were the Depo's pretty much plug and play? Any errors? I am about to upgrade my 06 with the Depo lights as well.
 

·
Registered
05 w463 G55, 2008 w251 R500
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
great question. i hope we can find this out. Were the Depo's pretty much plug and play? Any errors? I am about to upgrade my 06 with the Depo lights as well.
looking at your garage, you seem to have both 06 & 10 g55s. The instrument panels are easy to remove. if you could, just take a look back to see if the connectors are the same and if so, try plugging it in to see what happens.

the depots are plug and play. no splicing of wires required. I did a write up on here, so do a search.
 

·
Registered
G55 2007 - RangeRover Sport - RollsRoyce 1978 - Trans Am 1978
Joined
·
14 Posts
I Have G55 2007
and i installed the new odometer 2008+
and everything working except the mileage it doesn't show in the new odometer i took the car to the dealer and they said no sorry we cant do modifications, and i took the car to many mercedes-benz specialised and they tried but nothing showed up, they used star diagno and every tools
let me know if you come with an idea
 

·
Registered
04' G500
Joined
·
140 Posts
mileage it doesn't show in the new odometer i took the car to the dealer and they said no sorry we cant do modifications
For obvious reasons of it appearing as a odometer rollback that they don't want any part of it. I just had my cluster replaced under warranty due to a fading display. Retail on the replacement cluster was $2,150.02.

I certainly don't have the means to drop that kinda dough on a cluster mod.
 

·
Registered
96 G300DT
Joined
·
2,009 Posts
On my (non-US) G, I used the star system to change from metric to US measurements. In the process it asked if I understood that, paraphrased: "once set to the US settings that the odometer could only set to higher values, and never backwards (OK?)".

You might try finding a more friendly shop and bring both the old and new clusters, just so they know that nothing illegal is going on.
 

·
Registered
RHD C200K Sport Coupe, RHD SLK-55, LHD SLK-350
Joined
·
451 Posts
On my (non-US) G, I used the star system to change from metric to US measurements. In the process it asked if I understood that, paraphrased: "once set to the US settings that the odometer could only set to higher values, and never backwards (OK?)".

You might try finding a more friendly shop and bring both the old and new clusters, just so they know that nothing illegal is going on.
No need to bring both clusters, the mileage is stored in the CGW and ECU as well. It's a two step process - the new cluster has to be married to the DAS (drive authorization system) - this can only be done once - and then the mileage can be set to a value equal to or greater than that in the ECU.

If the cluster is not married, the odometer displays 5 dashes or 5 stars depending on the version. Supposedly, if a specific number of miles (or time?) passes without the cluster being married to the car, it can no longer be married.

Any dealer *can* do this, but most will not unless they also supply the new cluster.

No idea on a G, but on the R171, the new clusters work fine in the older cars - even the new AMG will work in an original release R171 non-AMG.
 

·
Registered
G55 2007 - RangeRover Sport - RollsRoyce 1978 - Trans Am 1978
Joined
·
14 Posts
I took the old cluster to the Mercedes shop to see the map and compare it with the new cluster and still the car there they are still finding solution, to make the NEW cluster can read the mileage from the ESI which is showing 32000 Miles,
they connect the ZERO mile new cluster to the car and the computer showing ( unknow data ) and they trying to switch the wire to see if it will going to works
and still not yet

I contact my dealership again and there answer was ( you cant instal 2008 cluster ti 2007 car ) !!!!
I dunno what to do I bought it for 1500$ and there is no returns to an open used item I

G55 - 2007
 

·
Registered
05 w463 G55, 2008 w251 R500
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Dhari- where are you located? Honestly, I never even use the odometer function. I keep my display on the radio or trip computer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
newer update speedo

so basically you have the newer update speedometer gauges on your older 07 right? was it plug and play because honestly i careless about the milege reading ..how about steering controls and navigation, PRND does that all show ??
I Have G55 2007
and i installed the new odometer 2008+
and everything working except the mileage it doesn't show in the new odometer i took the car to the dealer and they said no sorry we cant do modifications, and i took the car to many mercedes-benz specialised and they tried but nothing showed up, they used star diagno and every tools
let me know if you come with an idea
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
mind posting a pic for us...with the steering wheel so we know the year of suv,also with the car on and off..if you would like to sell it i'll be interested to buy it for a good deal.


I took the old cluster to the Mercedes shop to see the map and compare it with the new cluster and still the car there they are still finding solution, to make the NEW cluster can read the mileage from the ESI which is showing 32000 Miles,
they connect the ZERO mile new cluster to the car and the computer showing ( unknow data ) and they trying to switch the wire to see if it will going to works
and still not yet

I contact my dealership again and there answer was ( you cant instal 2008 cluster ti 2007 car ) !!!!
I dunno what to do I bought it for 1500$ and there is no returns to an open used item I

G55 - 2007
 

·
Registered
G55 2007 - RangeRover Sport - RollsRoyce 1978 - Trans Am 1978
Joined
·
14 Posts
Dhari- where are you located? Honestly, I never even use the odometer function. I keep my display on the radio or trip computer.
I'm in kuwait city,
me too i dont use it but its not right to keep it that way
 

·
Registered
G55 2007 - RangeRover Sport - RollsRoyce 1978 - Trans Am 1978
Joined
·
14 Posts
so basically you have the newer update speedometer gauges on your older 07 right? was it plug and play because honestly i careless about the milege reading ..how about steering controls and navigation, PRND does that all show ??
yes i plugged it and everything works exept the mileage reding and the navigation and the radio/radio control/radio volume not working :(
 

·
Registered
G55 2007 - RangeRover Sport - RollsRoyce 1978 - Trans Am 1978
Joined
·
14 Posts
mind posting a pic for us...with the steering wheel so we know the year of suv,also with the car on and off..if you would like to sell it i'll be interested to buy it for a good deal.
sell the car or the cluster ?
 

·
Registered
05 w463 G55, 2008 w251 R500
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
well, I have decided to purchase a cluster anyways. The problem is there are numerous versions, all with different manufacturer designations. The 07s are different from the 08s, the 08s different from the 09s and the 09s different from the 10s! (I already know that in 07 , the first part of the year had the old style, while the later builds had the new style). There is no stock of the cluster in the US, so it will have to be ordered from europe- I was told about 4 weeks to get to me.

My speedometer guys says it shouldn't be a problem though. I'll keep everyone posted.
 

·
Registered
04' G500
Joined
·
140 Posts
There is no stock of the cluster in the US, so it will have to be ordered from europe- I was told about 4 weeks to get to me.

My speedometer guys says it shouldn't be a problem though. I'll keep everyone posted.
Who is your source/supplier of the cluster? A MB dealership or similar authorized distributor of MB parts? I ask because I took my truck in last month for a fading display and the dealship had the cluster shipped to them by the next day. I was without my truck one night.
 

·
Registered
05 w463 G55, 2008 w251 R500
Joined
·
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Who is your source/supplier of the cluster? A MB dealership or similar authorized distributor of MB parts? I ask because I took my truck in last month for a fading display and the dealship had the cluster shipped to them by the next day. I was without my truck one night.
Mark, the cheapest place I have found to by original mercedes parts is parts.com. Note, you need to know the exact part number. Most of the time, the parts get drop shipped directly from the Mercedes distribution center in IL.

I could get it from the dealer much quicker, but I'd rather get 30% off.
 
1 - 20 of 121 Posts
Top