Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2000 c280, and am somewhat considering adding a bit more kick to it.

Does anyone have experience adding a new intake to one of these? or an all out supercharger?

·
Registered
2006 CLS500 - Iridium Silver w/ AMG Sportline
232 Posts
Considering the value of the car, I don't think it's worth the $7k+. If you need that much more power, sell the car and buy something with more HP out of the gate. If you keep it, chip it, run premium and install a better flowing exhaust system.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hm...didn't realize it was that expensive. Bummer.

I'm relatively new to all of this - do you have a link to more information on the chip replacement? the exhaust replacement?

So would you also recommend against doing the intake upgrade (without supercharging)?

·
Registered
232 Posts
Boschk - 5/21/2005 2:27 AM

I believe that Powerchip is a sponsor of benzworld, so click on the "marketplace" link above. Or, here's a direct link: http://mbnz.org/marketplace/advertisers.asp I'd start there. Talk to the guys at Powerchip about exhaust and intake mods. I'm sure that can tell you how they will work in combination with there chips.

·
Registered
1996 C280
121 Posts
I put in a turbo and I bought everything used, did all the work myself, and self re-programmed the computers, it cost be $20 for the turbo and I used Home Depot stuff totaling to $55.

·
Registered
1996 C280
121 Posts
I can burn any corvette in production right now, the new Z06 will kill me, but I got a couple months till that happens. I'm putting out 360hp to the rear wheels. I got to get a contoller package for it though because in the rain it will just spin the tires if I let off the brake, but tires are cheap and it was well worth it.

·
Registered
1999 C280 Sport
34 Posts