Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
toyota
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm a newbie at this forum. Need yor honest oppinion on this issue.
- I'm on the market tor a very basic, simple mid-size family sedan, automatic. My budget is 29K-32K and I'm puzzled between these 3 cars. I'm not very familiar with C-class, but here are my thoughts:

a) C240/1.8 seems to me small; here, we run A/C 7 months/year. Also, I've heard the turbo doesn't operate at its best in hot climates. True? The C240/V6 looks OK, but less HP than 1.8 ?! Aren't we underpowered here?

b) Audi A4/3.0 is suppose to be great car, nice interior, excellent safety figures - a lot of car for the $. But, the 3.0 engine is brand new model, plus their new CVT... So, I'm not sure.

c) BMW325i is right in my $ range. Especially, those come almost stripped (may be just moonroof), exactly what I need. Their engine has been around forever. Excellent resale, but slightly lower safety results compared to A4.

Also, how do the C240 sedans usually come? I pretty much need a stripped one, or just very few options.

Please, consider:
-reliability
-safety
-ride/comfort/feel

Thanks

·
Registered
2015 ML250 BTC
1,314 Posts
Based on positive comments . . . maybe the C230

MB's 3-door C230 may be the best car at giving you the most for the least money while offering some excitement and good resale in a luxury small car.

In 4-door versions of these cars, I think the C320 may the best small luxury sports sedan there is in what is the most competitive class in the auto industry.

But, given the smaller engines of the three autos you mentioned, they probably can be joined by a few other autos that overall may offer enough positives with any negatives that they're all good values considering the trade-offs, e.g., Lexus has a new competitive model in this class (and Jag, but it isn't selling too well).