Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

41 - 60 of 73 Posts

Registered
Joined
2 Posts
? I'm having a very similar problem here. Bags don't leak but car sits low in rear and won't pump up like they are releasing air at the same time the compressor is running. Only code is c1121-002 and visit workshop light is on. Just curious if a solution had been found so I can chase down another possible lead. Checking strut connections today...
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Hi,

Any problem like this requires much more than just a Fault Code.

It requires time on SDS to not only get fault Code(s) but also run all the Airmatic Test Procedures, and look at the Actual Values to see what is going on and drill it down to the actual faulty Component(s) :wink

No other Diagnostic Equipment can do this, do not be misled by a "Yeah Yeah my xyz Machine can do all that" type of Garage / Mechanic .....................

Guessing just gets very expensive very quickly, playing "Parts Darts" is almost never cheaper than correct Diagnosis.

Problem is that you can get the same sort of symptoms but with very different causes ;)

HTH,

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
Morning Oliver,

Well yes and no lol I went and checked it with Das the day that i was supposed to and found out that my leveling sensor in the front driver side was reading higher than the rest so we messed with it a little and it seemed a lot better but we left it at that since that very afternoon i had to go get a meniscus surgery and i was running late. Actually i was supposed to be in Mississauga on the 27th for my brother in law's 60th birthday party but the surgery took care of that. So with that being said, i haven't moved much since then. Trying to recover from the surgery and once I am able will get to it again. One other thing was that when i removed the driver side tire to check the connecter i discovered that the tire had a little bulge on the inside wall. So now waiting for the new tire to come in and get that swapped as well. Just glad that i found it now vs driving on the highway and getting a blow out. So i will change the tire and then most likely recalibrate the ride once again. Will update the thread once I am able to walk again and get to the bottom of it ?
Hi,
I have identical problem in my CLS55 and just wondering whether you managed to get to the bottom of it?
Thanks and regards, Radek
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #44
Hi,
I have identical problem in my CLS55 and just wondering whether you managed to get to the bottom of it?
Thanks and regards, Radek
Hi there,
I am sorry, I thought I updated this. What solved my issue was a new acceleration sensor and a full day with the SDS. After I changed the old sensor my ride height changed as well. So I had to reset the height and get it to where I wanted it via SDS and the Romess tool. Long process with a lot of trial and error since at the time I was not very familiar with the process. My friend let me borrow his SDS and I had it all weekend. So SDS will be your friend on this one. Good luck.
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
Thanks for that. I'll get the sensor and see what happens. I have tried to set hight manually yesterday, but when I lowered it manually to the sake value it seemed not leveled (front -left and right) o have set it to -26 on right but equivalent of the same height (measured with one finger rule;-) was about-36. I am not sure whether this is because ground wasn't as flat as table or whether car is heavier on one side, but seems that setting to the same value was significantly different. For this reason I though its hight sensor on left side. By the way all went wrong after I had ball joint replaced-coincidence?
 

Registered
2005 S600
Joined
577 Posts
Not coincidence, likely causal.

who did the ball joint?

They probably bumped, and bent, the ride height sensor. It鈥檚 bolted to the upper control arm and the fender well, and has a small metal arm that can be bent if your not careful.

Start by looking at that.
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #48
Thanks for that. I'll get the sensor and see what happens. I have tried to set hight manually yesterday, but when I lowered it manually to the sake value it seemed not leveled (front -left and right) o have set it to -26 on right but equivalent of the same height (measured with one finger rule;-) was about-36. I am not sure whether this is because ground wasn't as flat as table or whether car is heavier on one side, but seems that setting to the same value was significantly different. For this reason I though its hight sensor on left side. By the way all went wrong after I had ball joint replaced-coincidence?
First, I would start with a Ruler instead of fingers. Secondly the ground has to be
Dead Level. Actually the right way of doing it, would be a four way alignment post. But just like Astro14 suggested, check the ride height sensor on the side of the ball joint that was replaced and take it from there.
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
Not coincidence, likely causal.

who did the ball joint?

They probably bumped, and bent, the ride height sensor. It鈥檚 bolted to the upper control arm and the fender well, and has a small metal arm that can be bent if your not careful.

Start by looking at that.
It was my mate who is Mercedes lover and has his own garage. He's good mechanic thou, but quit on his airmatic in favour of coilovers(I suppose separate topic to cover this)
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
First, I would start with a Ruler instead of fingers. Secondly the ground has to be
Dead Level. Actually the right way of doing it, would be a four way alignment post. But just like Astro14 suggested, check the ride height sensor on the side of the ball joint that was replaced and take it from there.
How do I check it? I just messaged him and he replied saying that he checked it and it was fine? How can I do it?
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
OK. so I took the car to the garage and we both look at the sensors, which looks untouched! I have checked reading from both acceleration sensors and they seems to be pretty much matching, so I don't think there is anything wrong with them. Not sure what to do next. I'll take car for tracking and maybe see if I can reset height or set it up manually as I really dont like being high. The only problem is that ride is firm and I think this is due to the presurre in the bags being to high. It seems that car is releasing air very often while I drive, so must be overfilling it for some reason
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #52
OK. so I took the car to the garage and we both look at the sensors, which looks untouched! I have checked reading from both acceleration sensors and they seems to be pretty much matching, so I don't think there is anything wrong with them. Not sure what to do next. I'll take car for tracking and maybe see if I can reset height or set it up manually as I really dont like being high. The only problem is that ride is firm and I think this is due to the presurre in the bags being to high. It seems that car is releasing air very often while I drive, so must be overfilling it for some reason
Did you try clearing the code via SDS??
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
@Astro14 gave you the answer, everything else is guesswork without SDS, and as for Coil over conversions, well ...........................................
 

Registered
2005 S600
Joined
577 Posts
Because the 鈥渃omputes鈥 into which you plugged it don鈥檛 see ALL the codes. Only some. If you really want to know what鈥檚 going on, plug it into a Mercedes Star/DAS/XENTRY.

Further, a bent sensor arm will not set a code. Just provide a faulty ride height.

Finally, and this is important, I don鈥檛 know of a single diagnostic trouble tree that begins with 鈥渞eplace part鈥. When a sensor reads out of range, it could be the sensor, but it could be because another component fault or failure is causing the car to operate out of normal range for that parameter.
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
Because the 鈥渃omputes鈥 into which you plugged it don鈥檛 see ALL the codes. Only some. If you really want to know what鈥檚 going on, plug it into a Mercedes Star/DAS/XENTRY.

Further, a bent sensor arm will not set a code. Just provide a faulty ride height.

Finally, and this is important, I don鈥檛 know of a single diagnostic trouble tree that begins with 鈥渞eplace part鈥. When a sensor reads out of range, it could be the sensor, but it could be because another component fault or failure is causing the car to operate out of normal range for that parameter.
not sure which computer he had but it cost 拢3000 so must be good one. He runs the garage not chicken shop. It did have all bells and whistles, as I was able to set each side manually as well. So thanks for your sarcastic comment. Regarding the "bent sensor arm" - are you able to provide the picture? I am not too sure which sensor that is then as all the sensors I've sen were on the inner side of the wheel-arch/
Thanks in advance for all your efforts in replying :)
 

Registered
2005 S600
Joined
577 Posts
I would like you to listen to me carefully: It doesn't matter how much your mate paid for his box, it won't do everything that Mercedes' software and support will. MB is currently charging over $18,000 USD for their set-up, so I know your mate doesn't have it, and that means that he cannot, repeat, cannot, see everything going on with the car.

The sensor that you see on the inner side of the wheel arch is the sensor to which I am referring. Bent, not bolted back in correctly, slipped out of the slot on the inner fender liner - I have no idea. I didn't do the work. Hard to see if it's installed correctly with the wheel still installed, so I would pull that wheel off and take a close look.

He would not be the first to have a problem with this... for example: Height problems after upper control arm replacement

With this post:
I had the same problem a week ago after replacing the upper arms as well. I found that I had reinstalled the height sensor incorrectly. There is a tab that sticks out of the sensor below the sensor arm. This tab needs to go through the round hole provided by the frame (sheet metal). I made the mistake of putting it beside the hole and the sensor was rotated slightly. This caused the car to think it was higher than it was.
Finally, if you think I am being sarcastic, you're wrong. However, if you would like me to spend my time trying to help you with your problem, then you would do well to presume I am acting in good faith. Because I am. I get nothing from the time I spend reading your posts and applying my experience and thought.

I've got lots of other things I could be doing...
 

Registered
Joined
14 Posts
I do appreciate your time and once again I would like to say thank you!
I'll take your advice on board and will inform you about the outcome if I get to the bottom of this
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
If you search this Forum you will find that this has cropped up a few times when so called "good mechanics" have fitted upper arms ......................

AND NO I AM NOT BEING SARCASTIC, MB Cars do not work like regular Cars, which is why the regular Diagnostic Machines and good non MB Specialist Mechanics do not give good results..................

Back to the problem, the Height Sensor Bracket fixes through the Upper Arm bolt, it has a small lug on it to locate it in the inner wing Arm Mounting, regular Mechanics don't know this, so it gets misaligned when re fitting it. It doesn't have to be far out to cause a problem !!
It doesn't throw a "Fault Code", it does however report the wrong Voltage to the Airmatic Module, making the Car sit wrong, SDS will find this through a mixture of guided tests and data which even some 拢7000 machines cannot see !!

The thread I am referring to is from this year IIRC I do not have time to go find it for you, please use search and also read the Stickies, especially how we are expected to use the Forum ;)

HTH,
 
41 - 60 of 73 Posts
Top