Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I received a Airmatic Visit Shop today as I was driving and my ride stiffened up. I presume the car went on safe mode and stiffed the suspension. Checked it via DAS and I got the above fault. Reset it and drove away. Fault has not come back but the ride is still stiff. I ordered the sensor and it seems pretty easy to remove and replace but the real question is, do I need to calibrate the ride once changing it ?? Please tell me NO lol
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi,

NO, just reset the Code ;)

Cheers Dave
Thank you sir!! You are a life saver :grin
The only thing is that I already reset it and it hasn't come back yet but the ride continues to be stiff :eek
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Hi,

If that sensor is bad, it is probably telling Airmatic ECU that the Car is cornering hard, and thus stiffening the Damping ;)

Not all Codes return immediately, it will probably pop the code again after a few Drive Cycles :wink

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi,

If that sensor is bad, it is probably telling Airmatic ECU that the Car is cornering hard, and thus stiffening the Damping ;)

Not all Codes return immediately, it will probably pop the code again after a few Drive Cycles :wink

Cheers Dave
Thank you again Dave. Will be picking up the new sensor at the dealership this afternoon and will update. Just hope it is the sensor and not the connector or the wiring since I had washed the engine about a week ago :frown
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Hi,

Not with a Pressure Washer I hope :eek

Best way to clean a Modern Electronic Engine Bay is using Solvent Brake Cleaner fired out of a Parrafin Gun at low pressure, then brush it and blow dry with Airline ;)

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hi,

Not with a Pressure Washer I hope :eek

Best way to clean a Modern Electronic Engine Bay is using Solvent Brake Cleaner fired out of a Parrafin Gun at low pressure, then brush it and blow dry with Airline ;)

Cheers Dave
No power washer lol just running water :wink Where I live they use sand on the roads all winter so the engine bay gets full of sand. I wash it every year right before summer starts. Usually put plastic bags over the electronics and the fuse boxes but never over the these sensors. Anyhow I installed the New Sensor and went out for a ride but still stock in the safe mode ( stiff ride ) What do you suggest for my next step?? Could it be the connector?? I am going by my buddy's tomorrow to run one more scan on DAS and see if the code came back and needs to be reset again but meantime I am changing the oil :grin
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Also another thing worth mentioning since this fault came on is that I am noticing a lot more air release from the compresor through out the drive. I know that the system checks itself every 15 min and regulates but I hear the psshhh every 3-4 min now...
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Also another thing worth mentioning since this fault came on is that I am noticing a lot more air release from the compresor through out the drive. I know that the system checks itself every 15 min and regulates but I hear the psshhh every 3-4 min now...
Hi Sonny,

This may be a Valve Block issue, see @cowboyt 's post about the various tests available in SDS for diagnosing VB faults, it sounds like you may have another issue other than the G Sensor ;)
Has G Sensor fault returned since clearing the Code after changing the Sensor ??

If a Valve is internally leaking by, you may well get unusual Air releases here and there ;)

FWIW I never here my Car release Air, except as I get out of the Car and pay attention for it when there is no other ambient noises :wink

HTH,

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
Hi Sonny,

This may be a Valve Block issue, see @cowboyt 's post about the various tests available in SDS for diagnosing VB faults, it sounds like you may have another issue other than the G Sensor ;)
Has G Sensor fault returned since clearing the Code after changing the Sensor ??

If a Valve is internally leaking by, you may well get unusual Air releases here and there ;)

FWIW I never here my Car release Air, except as I get out of the Car and pay attention for it when there is no other ambient noises :wink

HTH,

Cheers Dave
Hi Dave,

I am going to the shop today to check and see if the code has come back. Nothing in my cluster though... That would be messed up if it actually is the valve block since I just had it replaced about 6 months ago. But the car does not drop or anything and the whole air realising just started once the i got that code. Hmm I will report later on the code..
PS: I read the thread by T but his car actually dropped where mine keeps perfect height. Always something :(
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Hi Sonny,

Dropping, Raising, Expelling Air they are all different Valves within the same Block, but when they leak off internally you don't always get a Fault Code from Airmatic ;)

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Hi Sonny,

Dropping, Raising, Expelling Air they are all different Valves within the same Block, but when they leak off internally you don't always get a Fault Code from Airmatic <img src="http://www.benzworld.org/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" />


Cheers Dave
Got ya. I just find it strange that the valve block will go at the same time as the sensor...but just got back from the shop and the code was still stored. So he cleared it up but the ride stayed the same. He was busy and couldn't check the sensor data and such so gonna have to go back at some point again. Just pissed cuz i got the car to where it was riding like it should and now going through this again ?
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Hi Sonny,

Dropping, Raising, Expelling Air they are all different Valves within the same Block, but when they leak off internally you don't always get a Fault Code from Airmatic ;)

Cheers Dave
Dave,

I have been driving the car and the code has not come back. I was wondering, could it be the airmatic computer acting up ?? What I am trying to say is that, I cleared the code but maybe the airmatic computer thinks it is still there and keeps the car on the safe mode?? Because it does not make sense. Brand new sensor and no codes but still stiff :eek
 

Registered
'04 S500 4Matic
Joined
304 Posts
Hi Doni
When I was reading through forum posts about the stiff ride, I read some people suggesting to put it into the sport 2 mode (with both lights on) and drive for a while, and then put it back to normal. From what I understand, sometimes this resets the damping when it's stuck.
Thanks
Ollie
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Hi Doni
When I was reading through forum posts about the stiff ride, I read some people suggesting to put it into the sport 2 mode (with both lights on) and drive for a while, and then put it back to normal. From what I understand, sometimes this resets the damping when it's stuck.
Thanks
Ollie
Thanks Ollie, i will give that a shot but i am pretty sure that is what is going on here. The computer somehow is not resetting after clearing the code. Thanks again bud.
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
6,585 Posts
Hi Sonny,

I agree with Ollie.
I doubt your Airmatic Module is locked up, but it may be that cycling between the Settings, especially when driving it, will somehow normalise the Airmatic ??

Otherwise need to look at Live Data in Airmatic and see what it is actually commanding the Struts to do :wink

HTH,

Cheers Dave
 

Registered
S500 4Matic 2005
Joined
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Hi Sonny,

I agree with Ollie.
I doubt your Airmatic Module is locked up, but it may be that cycling between the Settings, especially when driving it, will somehow normalise the Airmatic ??

Otherwise need to look at Live Data in Airmatic and see what it is actually commanding the Struts to do /forums/images/BenzWorld2/smilies/tango_face_wink.png

HTH,

Cheers Dave
Thanks Dave. I am still waiting to hear back from my friend with DAS. He did suggest the same thing. To check the live data and what the sensors are giving out but mean time i just disconnected the battery. I know, i know that we are not supposed to do that and trust me, i did not wanna do it and was so hesitant to the point that my wife goes....you ok?? Just sitting in the back of the car with the trunk open?? But desperate times call for desperate measures my friend ? Will keep you guys updated on the result.
 

Outstanding Contributor
2002 S430
Joined
1,927 Posts
You will need to check the data in DAS - control units - airmatic - actual values - now bounce the car as hard as you can. The system will have the limits you will need to be inside of. After this set the car to level automatic with DAS.
 
1 - 20 of 73 Posts
Top