Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
2014 C300 Sport W204 | 2007 SLK280 R171
Discussion Starter #1
Hello MB owners! I'm new to this forum but have been active on the sister forum of SLKWorld, so not a total noob :wink.

I recently acquired my 2014 C300 and am wanting to fit it with a remote start. The car I got rid of had it and I already miss having it! I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the SmartKey Starter (Smart Key Starter庐 For Mercedes-Benz) and if it was worth it or if it caused issues with the car.

Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold馃槩 2013 ML500,馃榿 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
It looks great. I installed keyless go on my Ml. I walk away from my wife's C200 constantly without locking it because it doesn't have it, so I understand what your saying. I wouldn't like to attempt installing that on a later model Benz myself. They are to intelligent on the key start side of things these days but it would be good. If you can get it fully installed reasonably go for it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
Matt, thank you for your reply but I think you are thinking I want something other than I do, I'm just looking at the remote start module, rather than the keyless start. I've read that the keyless go isn't worth the expense :).

W163 Crash Test Driver
2008 ML350 (Me!), 2010 GLK350 (Wife), 2003 ML-350 (Deceased)
I have installed three Mid City Engineering Smart Key Starters, and in my opinion they are worth their weight in gold. Super easy to install, and they work fantastically well. The newest generation will even turn your seat heaters and defrost on if the temp is below a user definable threshold. I have ours paired with the Directed Smart Start interface, which gives you smart phone control globally. It makes you your own Mbrace.