Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Im new to BenzWorld and hoping to become a full time member very soon.
I currently have an 2003 Audi A3 3.2 litre V6 which i am hoping to sell very soon.

In return i have found a 2004 Merc C Class Saloon C200 CDI and has 90k milage on the clock. It also has full service history. It is in black and has leather heated seats, built in satnav, electric seats. So a relatively high spec model.
However, it is fairly cheap because it is a CAT D insurance loss.
I am planning to keep my next car long term but my budget is very low. So i dont want to buy anything newer. The price range at the moment does include a coupe of C class's but nothing with a high spec as i have found in this CAT D one.

My questions to you are;

As im buying my first merecedes, are there any things i should be aware of before i buy? Am i letting myself into a money guzzler (from maintainance costs and unexpected repairs, to problems with the car i might face in the future)?

I have been told that the Mercedes engines are NOT very reliable (compared to an Audi a4 for example). Is this true?

Is there any re-occuring common problems that many people get with C class's?

Being a CAT D, what are the things i should be aware of before buying? Am i letting myself into a trap? The dealer said to me that it was light body damage (nothing done to the mechanical side of the car). He said that in his records it said that the accident happened in 2010 and was declared as a CAT D. Since then it has been repaired and there isnt a problem with the car.

Thank you for all your help, and i appreciate any advice you give me :)

Gurps

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
19,441 Posts