Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here.
Just wanted to ask opinons regarding a 1990 300sl I'm about to get.
Some work has to be done as said by owner.
Power seat modules need replacing as it was flooded, and water sip in to floor area. Same as soft top module. Are these expensive repairs? Aside from those issues, Engine and tranny are fine. Are there any things that get broken once the floor area gets wet? All indicator lights work, no other probs.

Would like to hear opinions about my situation. The car is a bargain, $5k asking price. Thank you.

·
Registered
1,781 Posts
Spend a little more money and get ALOT more car!!!!!!!!!!! A car that has been WET is going to have problems down the road!!!!! While you are at it, PLEASE fill out your PROFILE comletely, Thank You!!!

·
Registered
661 Posts
Maybe you can do better...

Marianna,

maybe you can do better than $5k for a '90 300SL that has been wet. We don't know your location from your profile, so it's hard to guess.

There are many more expensive parts that could have suffered, depending on the circumstances. It is wonderful to get an SL that is in good shape, and I would encourage you to find exactly the best one you can reasonably afford. However, it is very expensive and aggravating to have bought a Mercedes that needs a lot of work and parts.

Good luck, and please let us know what you end up with!

-Klaus

[email protected]

·
Registered
147 Posts
I agree with Klaus. I bought a 1992 300SL for $5,000.00 with many problems and it didn't get wet. Walk away. There are lots of SL's out there with every thing working for $5K. You'll end up with close to $10K into it; that's no bargin.

·
Registered
978 Posts
Please, please, please, stay away from "wet". That car relies totally on electrical input and sensors. Not only are some of your major controllers trash, but so are the harness connectors. Run away! :eek:

·
Registered
5,344 Posts