Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick question:

I am interested in buying a used S430 (2003) with 187K miles (340K Km). The body and interior are perfect. I am a newbie with MB. Could you help me out please?
Thanks

·
Registered
W209 CLK500 & W220 S430
320 Posts
Check that everything works fine on the car . . .

These cars are a work of art !

Red, *<:){)-

·
Registered
Current 2017 GLE350, 2007 S550, 2002 S430, 1998 ML320 Deceased 74 240D, 92 400E, 97 E420, 13 GLK350
1,915 Posts
^^^+1^^^

You can find an S430 with fewer miles; so the other key variable is what is the asking price?

Other Q's: What is the service history, any major components replaced, what engine oil has been used, when was the last time the tranny was serviced?

See the encyclopedia for common W210 problems and questions to ask.

·
Registered
10 c63, 06 s65
292 Posts
Make sure you get the car inspected by either a dealer or an indy. The suspension can get very costly to fix if there is anything wrong with it.. its worth the money to get it inspected

·
Registered
330 Posts
Quick question:

I am interested in buying a used S430 (2003) with 187K miles (340K Km). The body and interior are perfect. I am a newbie with MB. Could you help me out please?
Thanks
Most W220's spent their lives in the ownership of people who took great care to keep them running well and looking good. The interiors are well-made and tend not to show a lot of wear, so there will be plenty of clean older S classes running around. Unfortunately, it's all irrelevant when it comes to systems in the car that are prone to failure regardless of how well it was maintained, and those systems can cost several thousand dollars to repair or replace.