Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, Hands up, Ive never owned a Mercedes and have no knowledge of the SLC450.

I have the oppurtunity to go and work in South Africa for a while, I will need a car for a few months that is reliable, however i dont want a heap of rubbish, instead something stylish would be nice.

Looking on Autotrader.co.za i have found a couple of SLC450's (1979ish) for around 3-5000 GBP.

My question is basically would a car of this price with 250K kilometers on the clock be reliable (I dont fancy breaking down late at night in Johannesburg!)

As i have no knowledge of these cars and my mechanical knowledge is limited should i buy something else like a horrible Opel Corsa, not really comparable but maybe more reliable?

I really fancy something stylish and dont mind spending 1000 GBP to get it in a fit state, are there any buying guides on the net, good links and websites very much appreciated. What should i look out for?

All comments and help gratefully recieved

Regards

JAmes Spearman

·
Registered
2017 Police Interceptor Utility, 2017 Police Interceptor Sedan
7,742 Posts
[:)]
Dear James,

First, I can but admire your sense of taste. The 450SLC was certain...

[:)]
Dear James,