Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1980 300TD Estate
451 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys..i am buying a 1991 300TE 4matic wagon, or should say "will buy" one if I get the ok from you guys here.

I am new to the 124 forum and so have no clue as to what to look for or look out for in a pre purchase inspection by myself.

I have 123 and 126 experience, so being a noobie on the 124 please break it down for me on what to reall look out for with the car...

it has 93k on it and is black on black and looks great and runs great as well...

please advise...

Thx

·
Registered
92 300TE 4matic
33 Posts
Guys..i am buying a 1991 300TE 4matic wagon, or should say "will buy" one if I get the ok from you guys here.

I am new to the 124 forum and so have no clue as to what to look for or look out for in a pre purchase inspection by myself.

I have 123 and 126 experience, so being a noobie on the 124 please break it down for me on what to reall look out for with the car...

it has 93k on it and is black on black and looks great and runs great as well...

please advise...

Thx
I have a 1992 300TE 4matic that I have had now for almost 6 years. I bought it with 59k on it. I was fortunate that the car had complete repair records, as the 4 matic unit had been replaced--a big expense that is not uncommon. Since that time I have had several major repairs: head gasket (common problem--look for leaks); AC evaporator: front axles; blower motor; ac compressor; and a radiator. The car now has almost 140k on it and it looks and drives well. I expect to be driving it for quite a while. These cars are not inexpensive to keep up, but for the value, quality and drive you get it seems worth it. And on the whole for 6 years of driving the expenses seem reasonable.