Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here, so I apologize in advance if this has been answered already. I replaced the front pads on my 1994 E320 today, it had a dead battery from sitting for a month (rode the motorcycle this month) and when I was finished, I put the car in neutral, pushed it back about 10 feet so my charger could reach the battery, put it in park and hooked up the charger. Several hours later, the battery is full, but it won't turn over. Dash lights up full, but now the car won't shift out of Park, and I have no brake lights, so I assume there's an issue with the switch. My question is, where is the switch, and is it a coincidence that the switch is suddenly bad or did I possibly do something in error during the brake job? Thanks for any advice.

-KRYSTOF

·
Registered
3,189 Posts
Not sure buddy what switch are you refering to ?

But maybe try resetting alarm/immobolizer by removing that fuse from block for 30 seconds ?

·
W124 Moderator
12,601 Posts
Krystof

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting your question. Seems it isn't a brake question as the title suggest. When you moved the car to hook your charger up, did you engage the parking brake before putting the car in park? Is the car on an incline or flat surface?

It is suggested in the owners manual to always engage the parking brake before putting the car in park. This prevents the park postion fork from ever having a "bind" on it. If need be, get some help pushing the car forward and see if you can get the car out of park, then set the parking brake firmly. Try placing the gear selector in neutral and see if the car will start. If it does and will not start with the selector in park, then you most likely have a failing neutral safety switch (NSS).

Lastly, be a player on the forum and take a few minutes to complete your profile. It never hurts to know your location, miles on the car etc.

Good Luck,