Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just finished installing my roof commander. It really was not difficult at all but there are somethings that I think could be clearer in the installation guide. I'll detail them here for anyone who is thinking about installing the unit themselves.

First I'll tell you about my background. I am a computer engineer and therefore have some experience using the various tools, but I think with a little patience pretty much anybody can do this.

The total installation took 4 hours, this included pulling the battery because I dropped a socket that went under the battery and traveling to an auto parts store and an ACE Hardware to get a nut that I also dropped. Without these delays I think I would have completed the job in 2 - 2.5 hours.

First I recommend you do this in a very bright location. Probably outside unless your garage has some serious lighting.

Secondly dont worry about the Under Dash connection with assistant. Simply cut a wire coat hanger and bend it straight then push it thru the firewall. I did this by laying on my back and looking for the light coming in thur the firewall. Use a little tape to attach the necessary wires (be sure to cover the end of the wire so that they will not catch) and pull it thru. Simple and very fast.

Ok now for the tricky bits, these are things where I think the install guide could use some improvement.

Fuse Box (page 5)
The fuse is not in the holder it is in the little bag with the wire splices. Be sure to insert the fuse (I think the instructions omit this) or you will be trying to debug things later when they dont work.

CCM wiring (page 9)