Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this great forum. I just bought a 2011 SL550 that I absolutely love. The car has 32k miles and drives like a dream. I've done some reading on the infamous ABC system and I plan on a DIY flush soon. Besides regular oil changes and the like, what other maintenance steps should I perform to keep this beauty in tip top shape for the nest 10 years?

I apologize if there's a list that already exists but I didn't see anything after searching.

Thanks in advance!

Joe

·
Registered
436 Posts
Welcome to the forum, and great choice of car to own Joe!

Do the ABC and filter as you already noted. It is now 8 years old, and many items on this car are time related, not miles.
Service the engine, trans and everything else by the book. That means bleeding the brakes annually per the Service A&B schedule as the fluid is hygroscopic (likes to absorb water).
Keep the rear battery on a tender if parked for more than 3 days.
Those are the basics.

I'm sure there are others that will chime in with good preventative items on a time or mileage basis.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the forum, and great choice of car to own Joe!

Do the ABC and filter as you already noted. It is now 8 years old, and many items on this car are time related, not miles.
Service the engine, trans and everything else by the book. That means bleeding the brakes annually per the Service A&B schedule as the fluid is hygroscopic (likes to absorb water).
Keep the rear battery on a tender if parked for more than 3 days.
Those are the basics.

I'm sure there are others that will chime in with good preventative items on a time or mileage basis.