Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

Best Online Info Sources for 2018 SLC 300?

2K views 8 replies 2 participants last post by  flibmeister 
#1 ·
Hello all!

I'm a total newbie to the M-B world, and I pick up my new-to-me 2018 SLC 300 on Monday. So, I've been scouring the internet for the best sources of information on the car. Unfortunately, I'm not finding much on this particular model.

I realize this has never been a high volume car (and that it has been recently discontinued), but I still thought there'd be active online forums discussing it. My last "toy" was a Honda Gold Wing motorcycle, and I browsed half-a-dozen very active different Gold Wing forums regularly while I owned it; some of the information I gleaned from those forums was invaluable. Surely there are some similar online sources for this car? If there are, I'm not finding them.

So-- any suggestions as to the best online forums for owners of the SLC 300? And, am I correct in thinking my car is designated as an "R172" in such forums?

Thanks for any help!

Denny

#3 ·
That video was very helpful, thanks! I've bookmarked that site and will go through some of the other videos there as well.

I'm sure I'll have lots of questions, but let me start with this one, regarding the in-car navigation: I understand my car is "prewired for Garmin Pilot." I also see that Amazon sells the latest SD card for the M-B Garmin Pilot for $99.

Is that SD card all I need to make the GPS Pilot functional? The phraseology "prewired" makes me wonder if there is additional hardware to buy as well.

I've used Garmin standalone GPS nav units for many years, so staying with what I know has some appeal. But the car also comes with Apple Carplay Integration-- do I have to plug my iPhone into the appropriate USB in the console to use that feature, or is the USB port simply keeping the iPhone charged, with the data exchange being accomplished via Bluetooth?

Thanks, again, for the assistance!

Denny

#4 ·