1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1993 400SEL (W140)
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I've left my car for a month or two parked in my garage without starting it :(

So now the battery is completely dead ! and I can't get the trunk open to jump-start the car (battery in trunk)..

I tried putting the key in the trunk lock "thing" and turning it, but it won't open it.

I also tried putting the key into the driver/passenger side door lock 'thing' and it won't open it.

So I can't open my hood or my trunk or the car itself..

Any help would be appreciated !

BTW, I'm not a pro with W140, so I will need baby steps (PICTURES would be AWESOME) on how I can solve this issue :(

Thanks,

Adam

·
Registered
1993 400SEL (W140)
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I've also read other forums on here that had this same issue, but I couldn't understand what they were trying to explain (i.e. no pictures at all, and the explanation was too complex for my 'newbie' skills)..

Adam

·
Registered
'14 E350, '07 CLK350, '01 SLK320
1,148 Posts
This has been discussed in this forum once or twice before. You should be able to find the thread(s) pretty easily if you use the search button in the upper right corner. Make sure you have Javascript turned on or it won't work. Good luck! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1993 400SEL (W140)
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Some people suggested opening the hood and connect + cable to something..and negative to ground.. How would I open the hood without releasing the hood-latch from inside the car ?

Also, I don't understand where I would connect the + cable to which part of my hood ?

not sure, HELP!

Adam

·
Registered
1995 mercedes S420
228 Posts
Some people suggested opening the hood and connect + cable to something..and negative to ground.. How would I open the hood without releasing the hood-latch from inside the car ?

Also, I don't understand where I would connect the + cable to which part of my hood ?

not sure, HELP!

Adam