Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1979 300D - 108k miles/ 2014 E250
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I put a new battery in (the old one tested bad) recently. My 300D (1979) would constantly be dead after the car sat for a few days. The new one is doing the same thing. Something is draining it down - I took out the fuse for the radio and it still died. I am wondering if the clock could be draining it?

I am not sure if I did it correctly but I think my multimeter reads .1 amp draw with everything off and the engine not running. I pulled the fuse that runs the clock (#2 I believe) and it read the same thing.

The ACC system is not working either - at all, not sure if that is related or not.

Any thoughts as to where to look next? I am no mechanic but I want to learn as much as I can.

Thanks

·
Registered
'85 500SEL -- Gandalf, the Anthracite
189 Posts
Electrical Gremlins

Ahhhhh! Something I can actually help with instead of being a complete information leach.

First thing to do is to find the circuit on which the drain occurs. To do this, set up your ammeter (or multimeter set to read amps). Since you say that the drain is about 100mA, set your scale accordingly. I would remove the cable from the negative terminal of the battery and hook your meter up between the battery terminal and the cable.

With this hookup, confirm that you are still reading a 100mA drain. If you are then start pulling fuses. Don't put them back but check your meter after you remove each fuse. Eventually, your drain will drop to zero or you will run out of fuses to pull. If you find the fuse which causes your draw to drop to zero, you will then need to troubleshoot that circuit depending on what you find. If the drain is constant even with all of the fuses removed, I would suspect the calibration of your meter.