Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)



I have 2 malfunctions, right lamp, right back up lamp on. All the bulbs are new genuine mercedes and the panel holding the bulbs have been replaced. The 2 malfunctions will only come on when the headlights are turned on. The lights work correctly at all times.

The SDS tells me it is the Front SAM (n10/1) or light switch module (S1). Has any one had this problem before?

I have another W203 that I could swap parts to help diagnose, if one of these parts are swapped from one W203 to another is there any programming that needs to be done?
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,463 Posts
If you swap a SAM, it does need to be recoded if the vehicles have different options. However, your problem is more likely a bad wiring harness than the SAM.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,463 Posts
I'd trace the harness. You say you replaced the bulbs and the panel? Check around that area to make sure you didn't damage the harness when replacing that.
 

·
Coupe/Convertible Forums Moderator
CURRENT: 2011 SL550, 2011 C300 FORMER: ML350, CLK550 Cabriolet, C240, ML320, 300TD
Joined
·
19,463 Posts
Remember, the system senses resistance (or a lack thereof) to detect a bad bulb. All you have to do is check the resistance of the wires, comparing the left side to the right side, and you can determine if it is a harness problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
211 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I ruled out light switch module (S1). So I'm down to the Front sam.

In regards to an issue with the wire harness I cant imagine that being the problem or I would have these codes coming up when the light switch is in the off position. I only have these codes when the night lights are activated.

I'm going to hook up the SDS and see what other options I have with the front sam, maybe I'll try to reprogram or some thing.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top