Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

I am new to Vito's and am just starting a project to get mine looking sweet. It's a 'Y' plate 112cdi.

Firstly I'd like some alloys. I was thinking 18" as I can run chunky'ish tyres (some of the MX tracks I drive to are on real rough ground).

-what wheel offset can I use and what tyre sizes on an 18'' wheel without rubbing? I have seen some nice Merc wheels with a 35 offset-ok?

- does anyone know which (if any) DIY central locking kit can be fitted? I'd like the front and the boot door done. But fronts would be fine. A pro job was daft at £300 just for RCL, no alarm.

Also I'd to lower it. I was thinking springs off eBay 40mm drop front and rear, would that look ok on 18's?

Finally I have two seats in the front which is great but I'd like some plush leather or sporty seats for it. I think I can just remove the seat tops leaving the runners and belt holder. Any ideas what seats work well/go right in?

My local scrappy had some mint SAAB 95 Aero full leather seats for £30! Sadly I missed them (too worried about measuring up first). These looked like they would be very near to going right in.

Any ideas?

Thanks people!

·
Registered
695 Posts
Hey bud,

I believe the offset is 45-48 on the 638. There is enough info on here about it. I have got ML alloys on mine. They are a straight swap, look great and are load rated. I went against getting too big, I have 16's, I just felt the ride comfort would be shit on big alloys, and many people advised me against it due to how quickly you'd end up going through tyres.