Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
320Cdi 560SEL S500
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everybody,

I'm a newbie to this forum but not to the site as I normally visit the W140 section as my 560SEL has been stored away for some time.

I now have her back on the road and all is good except that I am experiencing some small(ish) problems which I hope the remedies are in the back catelogue of threads/posts somewhere!!

Jon

·
Registered
1988 Mercedes Benz 420SEL 258,000 miles (SOLD) 1991 300se 168,000 miles, ASR 1999 GMC Yukon 192,000
1,376 Posts
got anymore pics of your car? look stunning

·
Registered
320Cdi 560SEL S500
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Third! Nice looking car.

What are the small issues you are having?
The small issues are as follows...

1. When warm, and driving along the car hunts/hesitates at exactly 1500rpm...if I blip the throttle all is ok!?! - this started about 2-3 years ago, but the hunting has got more pronounced as time has passed - the wiring to/from the idle control valve looks a little hard/brittle...

2. When cold, I select 'D' it feels like I haven't selected a gear until I give a bit of encouragement with the throttle - just needs a bit of blip again...when warm, all is ok!? Now it is about 1oC here at the moment - so I don't know if that has anything to do with it - but I don't remember it being an issue before. Fluid level is within the marks on the dip stick - Question...Do I check this when the fluid is hot or cold though?

3. Cruise control doesn't work - so I’m presuming, the actuator, amplifer, or stalk is the issue there..? I never used it, and its only because of the 140 that i was curious to use it - but it doesn't work...