Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 395 Posts

·
Registered
13 GLK350, 03 c320 wagon, 90 560sec
Joined
·
809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)

Attachments

·
Registered
'04 S430
Joined
·
270 Posts
I'm interested in doing this with my car. I'd like a detailed install if you can make it. I'm curious how it interfaces with the fiber optic system - if it uses the stock amps/speakers - does it work well with the instrument cluster... etc....

You have a 2003, isn't that a one off year for that radio design? Or is it the same interface with '04 - '06?
 

·
Registered
1999 CL500
Joined
·
412 Posts
This is really interesting. I have thought about doing this but I was concerned about potential battery drain with things not going to sleep properly.
For the physical install I am interested to hear what else has to be done other than removing the old unit and installing the new one.
Thanks
Oliver
 

·
Registered
2003 S55
Joined
·
7 Posts
All good questions that I would like to know too.... My 03 could really use something like this!

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
13 GLK350, 03 c320 wagon, 90 560sec
Joined
·
809 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You have a 2003, isn't that a one off year for that radio design? Or is it the same interface with '04 - '06?
03 is a different interface protocol. I think this head unit will interface more directly with the 04-06. I fully expect I'll have to use an external amplifier in my 03 and skip the optical interface. The eBay ad "claims" it works with 2000-2006, but I assumed it's really 04+. I doubt I'll be able to make it work with the steering wheel controls on my car, but on an 04+ it should work.
 

·
Registered
13 GLK350, 03 c320 wagon, 90 560sec
Joined
·
809 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
BTW, it's worth noting that I ordered it on Saturday and received it on Tuesday, all the way from China. Shipping was impressively fast.
 

·
Registered
2000 S430, 2003 S430, 2000 S500, 2003 S600 TT, and 2005 E320 CDI
Joined
·
5,340 Posts
My Dad's car will eventually get a new head unit. Not sure whether it'll be a new Android unit or a DOPF factory unit; still deciding. It's an '00 S430, which, like your '03 S500, uses D2B.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dave2302

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
7,862 Posts
Hi Guys,

This has been covered in depth loads on benzworld, search search search.

I have written a load about it too.

FO will only work with later system post 2003 IIRC.

The newest ones are now ERISIN Android 8.0 with 8Gb and potentially 4X 32Gb Media (2 SD Cards and 2 USB).

If you go for a decent Amplifier you can forget the F/O and use a 32Gb SD Card for all your Music, dump that ailing and dated CD Player and Navi Drive.

Without COMAND you will not get a Battery Drain, on Post Facelift Cars you may have to code COMAND not present in CGW, :dunno: never done Post Facelift ;)

Most all Steering Wheel Buttons will work with it if it is wired up correctly and Menu's configured right.
Steering Wheel buttons for the rest of the Cars functions remain working.
Same for some of the Dash Cluster info, it will display Radio and Track Info.
It doesn't display Nav Info on the dash, but it does have a nice big Screen compared to the clunky old COMAND !!

A load of people say they don't work because they don't understand that if CAN Bus is wired right you do not have to connect up a lot of the wires !! If you blindly connect everything then you will get conflicts.

The Motherboard / Main Board is generic and used in other shaped Head Units, so it comes with these wires, but you simply don't connect them on CAN Bus Cars like a Benz :wink

Final Icing on the Cake is the FM Radio and Navi will work with the good MB Amplified Antennas, the TV and DAB probably will too, I went in depth with that too a while back :grin

Sadly I've not yet tried the TV and DAB as I am too busy right now to finish my Car off :crying

What with my busy Business and the current "Family Crisis" that is now destroying yet another year of Mels' and my own life, after the previous 3 years of In Laws I thought I'd at least get a break :frown :rolleyes:

How dumb was I :big laugh:

Anyway, yeah, great units, get one and get stuck in, take pix, post up an Install diary, and if you get really stuck ask and I'll help if I can ;)

Mine is also having 2 Headrests with DVD / Monitors as well as all the Cameras and TPMS, Internet etc when I finally get to it, it is all sat waiting patiently in a box in my Workshop :wink

HTH,

Cheers Dave
 

·
Registered
2005 S55 AMG
Joined
·
58 Posts
I plan to eventually install one of these into my '05 AMG as well. Initially I'll just to the head unit and leave everything else factory. The 2nd stage will be proper components up front and multiple amplifiers.

I use bluetooth almost exclusively, so I'd like your feedback on sound quality in general and specifically through BT. I stream all my music, so I know I won't be getting audiophile quality.
 

·
Registered
1997 S500V, 1999 S500 grand edition, 2006 s65 amg
Joined
·
7,356 Posts
Headache on 04-06 w220. I bought a kit for my 04 s55 and sold the kit. You need to rewire the audio system completely. Because the 04-06 are completely fiber optic. On my old 00 s500 i installed a alpine double din. It took me a 2 hours with complete wire tuck and subwoofer (era of loud bass and aftermarket accessories). Later installed a kenwood and ditched the subs when the car sold
 

Attachments

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
7,862 Posts
Hi,

This is, IMHO, the definitive benzworld thread on this subject:-

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/aud...ad-unit-install-while-retaining-new-post.html

However, you need to read and digest the whole thread several times, and do not believe all you read that this and that doesn't work, some of that is because too many wires have been connected where they don't need to be, or menus not configured right ;)

Plug and play it isn't, an excellent and fairly cheap "Factory Look" upgrade it is, well within the capabilities of a competent DIY'er :wink

Rossafuss is pretty much the expert on this ;)
Also there is a guy in, (IIRC), UK who did a great install in his CL, cannot remember his name but he posts on here a bit, he too knows his stuff !!

Cheers Dave
 

·
Registered
W220 S Class
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have the Xtrons unit, the first one had a hardware fault and I needed to get Paypal involved to get them to pay for return shipping (they first tried to get me to close the case before they would replace it), all replaced ok in the end. Replacement has worked ok for a few months now. Sound quality was mediocre using built in amp, I have fitted JL Audio amps and Hertz speakers and this really shows up how bad the audio quality is. I am now trying to connect a Behringer USB DAC (as other have done, google it), but having some issue because the standard root procedures for these chinese head units isnt providing root access on the current Xtrons unit so struggling to get audio out via the USB DAC.

I have wired power to the car FM antenna amp which makes it a bit better but FM reception still drops out to much for any normal reception at the moment. As I understand it the car has diversity antennas and the Bose audio receiver / amp works with the aerial antenna systems to select the best antenna output at any one time, without the Bose connected clearly this doesn't happen so I presume this is part of the signal strength problem.

I got the Xtrons DAB tuner and their standard internal glass antenna, signal is no where near good enough to listen to DAB even in the city, currently looking at fitting bigger antenna and maybe hiding it in the bumper or something.

Built in hands free mic actually works well and steering call / hang up buttons work, but phone app doesn't always display name of contact that is calling (I end up looking at my smart watch to see who is calling)

Overall they kind of do the job, it works with steering wheel controls over canbus (except you have to repeatedly press the volume key instead of just holding it down) and the next /previous buttons dont work with media player apps other than the Xtrons default app. Reverse camera input works ok, selecting it by canbus signal. Touch screen is nice and ability install your favourite podcast and media player apps and use google maps etc is of course a great plus.

It kind of looks factory but a few people have noticed straight away it is aftermarket due to the slightly cheap finish to the plastic, but not bad for what it is Thru the setup you can configure the button backlight colour (sorry color for those in the US ;-) ) to be almost the same shade of orangey yellow to match rest of backlighting.

Overall its a good idea but a bit pricey for the quality and not plug and play (if you are not technically minded and /or dont like reading up and figuring out they you may want to stay clear). If you like high quality audio you will be dissapointed with the built in amp and also with the pre-outs signal.

If I can get decent sound via a USB DAC then it will be worth it, if I cant then the sound quality is going to irritate the hell out of me.

If I could get a fascia in real wood that allowed me to fit a quality branded double DIN unit I would do that, but the W220 double din adapters fascias are chines plastic faux wood.

Its an ongoing experiment, at this point I would pay more for a decent quality branded solution.

Anthony
 

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
7,862 Posts
Hi,

Good info and write up there /\ /\ /\ , thanks for taking the time.

I have to say, I do a lot of DJ'ing with an awesome PA system, and I have no complaints of sound quality on my Android, but there are several differences on my Car compared to the majority.

My Car never had BOSE from the factory, so I had no F/O issues the stock MB Speakers were plugged straight in at the back of the H/U, as they were on my old COMAND. I expect this means that they are regular 4 Ohm jobbies, other guys report strange Ohms readings from the BOSE stuff ;) I didn't bother measuring mine, as the whole system sounds fine as is.
As I didn't have the BOSE to jury rig, this also means that my Rear Shelf Woofer, and Dash Centre Speaker are all working right off the bat :wink

I bought the Erisin unit rather than Xtrons on the advice of a UK ICE Installer that I know, and looking at the connections on the back, they are using a different Main Board, so maybe that makes a difference to sound quality :dunno:

It definitely sounds as good, if not better than an expensive Pioneer full install in my V Class Minibus, also sounds as good, if not better than the factory unit in my C Class.

Later I may re wire the Rear Woofer through a small Amplifier, via the Erisin's SUB Out line, just so I can get better Bass Control by using the Sub Slider in the Graphic Equaliser, but for a Car system, that is really me just being picky ;)

I gave up spending mega bucks on Car systems years ago, they never sound as good as a Concert Hall due to Car Acoustics, I spent thousands on a full install on my Range Rover years ago, yeah it was loud, yeah it sounded good, but nothing like as good as my home Hi Fi or my Disco PA :frown

My MB Antenna Amp Powers up straight from the Erisin. My FM reception is brilliant considering the remote area in which I live, I am yet to wire up the DAB, as I will be using the DAB Antenna in my rear screen via the MB Antenna Amp, so as the Car never had DAB I have to run a new Coax from behind the Headlining all the way to the front to the H/U. I expect DAB will be as good as my Minibus when in Inverness but DAB is shite where I live anyway, same with DVB TV :wink

The only D2B F/O on my Car was the CD Player and the CTel Phone, both of which have been junked. Phone is Bluetoothed direct to H/U and working fine even just on the H/U's Mic atm, although i will be connecting it to the MB one.

My Steering Wheel Buttons all work fine and change tracks ok when playing from my SD Card. Yes I have to repeatedly press Volume up and Down, but you can configure the Erisin to boot at whatever Volume you wish :grin

I am yet to get the Dash Display working, some say they get Track and Radio Station Info, but mine hasn't but time on SDS Codings may get a result, I'm not that bothered if it doesn't as the Screen is bigger on this unit anyways.

I have no Current Drain issues, but I have set various SDS Coding in different modules to "COMAND Not Present", which is the correct way to do this install.

Can Bus stuff like Boot Up, Reverse Gear, Steering Wheel, Speed Sensing etc is all working fine.

Not much else to report as I'm too busy to go much further atm with the S Class until I get more spare time :wink

Cheers Dave
 

·
Registered
13 GLK350, 03 c320 wagon, 90 560sec
Joined
·
809 Posts
Update, haven't gotten around to installing in my w220, but put an identical unit in my w203. Given that the units change a lot from version to version, a lot of the details on the older units didn't apply to this one. Some details to consider:
* There is no subwoofer control, so you can't alter crossover or level from the head unit
* Sound quality is OK, but not great. If SQ is a big priority you're better off with a high-end unit from the big makers. This is good enough, equal to or better than the factory head unit, but not as good as the $500+ head units.
* Boot time is excellent, and the performance of the new units is very snappy.
* Using a 6-channel JL Audio digital amp, I'm getting much better performance out of the factory sub. Good enough that I don't feel the need for any upgrades there. I'll be very curious to hear how this does with the sub in the w220.

On the w203 I already had cut the factory amplifier out of the picture, so I used a direct RCA connection to a 6-channel amp in the trunk. I'm only using 4-channels, and letting the amp control the sub.

Notes on the 2003 w220:
* The optical connection is different than the later ones, and all of the xtrons adaptor boxes indicate they DON'T work with the older style connector
* I will plan on just taking the factory amp out of the mix, as even if I did do the optical conversion, I think I'd lose fader control, and it adds an additional DAC to the mix, which would lower the sound quality

I'll add more details as I start the install. I'm not going to bother with the backup camera, TMPS, or any of that stuff.
 

·
Registered
2005 W215 CL500
Joined
·
3,863 Posts
Hi,

This is, IMHO, the definitive benzworld thread on this subject:-

https://www.benzworld.org/forums/au...ad-unit-install-while-retaining-new-post.html

However, you need to read and digest the whole thread several times, and do not believe all you read that this and that doesn't work, some of that is because too many wires have been connected where they don't need to be, or menus not configured right ;)

Plug and play it isn't, an excellent and fairly cheap "Factory Look" upgrade it is, well within the capabilities of a competent DIY'er :wink

Rossafuss is pretty much the expert on this ;)
Also there is a guy in, (IIRC), UK who did a great install in his CL, cannot remember his name but he posts on here a bit, he too knows his stuff !!

Cheers Dave
I think you mean me...thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dave2302

·
W220 Moderator
Joined
·
7,862 Posts
Hi @renault12ts ,

Yes, sorry, I couldn't find your posts at the time, there was an issue with the Forum Search, thanks for seeing this and replying :wink .......................

OK Guys, now we have both the Android Experts on board ;)

@jjcarr,

I agree with you, I think an Aftermarket Amp, is the way to go on BOSE Cars.

Mine is a slightly older ERISIN which I bought at least 12 Months ago, it has SUB Slider in it's Graphic Eq, and an Sub Output Phono ......................
Also my Car didn't have BOSE, so non BOSE Cars IMHO will be fine on the stock H/U Amp and just Amp the Sub, but probably only if you have the Output, not sure if the newer Androids do :dunno:

Cheers Dave
 

·
Registered
13 GLK350, 03 c320 wagon, 90 560sec
Joined
·
809 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Update on the install, not 100% done but have sound. Install was quite simple. Box comes with several options for connecting. For my 03 I used the CanBus wiring harness (the one with the box attached to it). My radio had the standard euro connector in back, plus one of those (cam, lever to release plugs). To get the canbus working, the kit includes a plug that connects to this cam-lever harness. It has 2 pairs of wires coming off it, a white set and a green set. I assumed the green was correct, but the white ones are actually the ones you need. These then connect to the green B0 plug on the head unit wiring harness. I'll get some pics. With this installed I'm getting the head unit turning on when the car turns on, and get steering wheel control of the volume.

I also did confirm that the stock NAV antenna does not work with this unit, you will need to use the included GPS antenna. I ran it up the a-pillar on the passenger side of the car to the upper corner of the windshield, so you barely see it.

I did get an airbag warning, which likely is just coincidental. Haven't had time to diagnose.

Still need to connect the illum wire (assuming I need it), and confirm radio operation.

Rear amp was a simple install, power from the old amp wire, ground too, and patched into the stock wires for the speakers. I can post the wire colors if anyone needs it. Haven't connected the sub yet, will be using a different 6-channel amp with crossover controls to manage that. Will be using the JL digital amp, which is good quality, compact, runs cool, and has lots of crossover options.
 
1 - 20 of 395 Posts
Top