Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

Registered
1992 500SL, 1999 CLK 320 conv, 2015 ML350, (2011 ML550 gone, C320 wagon gone, 2005 C240 gone)
Joined
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold馃槩 2013 ML500,馃榿 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
Joined
4,573 Posts
Looks like good quality finish and fit. It鈥檚 probably just me but it almost looks to big sitting there. Seen them advertised but don鈥檛 know of anyone that鈥檚 fitted one. Be interesting to see what there like.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Premium Member
2015 ML250 Bluetec and 1987 560SL
Joined
3,583 Posts
Meh. It might work for a while, but my experience with Android devices - including something like this that I installed in my 164 - is that they get slower with time. I wouldn't expect to get more than a few years out of it.
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Has anybody on this forum installed one of these on their w166? It looks pretty neat. if I understand it right it replaces the factory screen, adds Android capabilities but keeps all the original command system functions and service menu.
https://androidautoshop.com/mercedes-benz/193-2575-ml-gl-gle-w166-84-touch.html#/26-map-europe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLw0EpRpQ3A
Would love to see a DIY / install guide, and how the system turns on when you turn the truck on. I'd be interested in doing it if it were seamless

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Meh. It might work for a while, but my experience with Android devices - including something like this that I installed in my 164 - is that they get slower with time. I wouldn't expect to get more than a few years out of it.
It's an Android device. Factory reset it every 6 months and it's running like new. It ain't iOS ;)

But anything is faster than COMAND 4.5

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
 

Registered
current: 2014 ML350 Bluetec past: 2008 ML320 CDI 2007 R320 CDI/2005 E320 CDI
Joined
198 Posts
Has anybody on this forum installed one of these on their w166? It looks pretty neat. if I understand it right it replaces the factory screen, adds Android capabilities but keeps all the original command system functions and service menu.
https://androidautoshop.com/mercedes-benz/193-2575-ml-gl-gle-w166-84-touch.html#/26-map-europe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLw0EpRpQ3A
I did a 6 months ago and let me share my experience. 'I am going write from memory but if you need specific question, I can dig it further.

First of all, they are a few different sizes of screen and I have chosen 8.4" due to I didn't want size of screen close ventilation and that model got newer version of Android. Secondly, it is very important to buy correct version due to return (I bought through Aliexpress) could be impossible. Once I received unit, I give to my installer and he connected cables (it was plug & play) but the configuration took time due to my installer press wrong button, changed language to Chinese and I requested new unit image from seller.

As for unit, it is working as expected. Once you turn on car, you can use standard (original) Mercedes unit on bigger screen OR use many Android applications. The connection for radio was done through 'AUX' but it is possible to use 'BT' (I didn't have time/desire to do it). As for Android applications, I am using the most 'Android Auto'. The Android Maps are very accurate and you can use any other software for Maps. Some people reported problem with GPS signal but I don't have that problem with my unit. I have installed a few other applications along with removal of some Chinese programs for listening music/video. So far, I didn't notice any major slow down in performance of unit.

As for unit, I paid ~500 USD (I see seller now selling for more after his unit got good reputation) + 200 CND for installation.

As for overall experience, it is very positive due to I have bigger screen which it could be configured easily. On the end, the most important step is buying correct unit :)

A.
 

Registered
1992 500SL, 1999 CLK 320 conv, 2015 ML350, (2011 ML550 gone, C320 wagon gone, 2005 C240 gone)
Joined
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Thanks, this is great information. Can you still use the factory navigation if you chose too? I like the factory navigation for the driving instructions being replicated on the dashboard right in front on the driver's view. Is there any factory function you have lost after installation of the new screen? How about the quality of the screen and its resolution?
Thanks again
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Thanks, this is great information. Can you still use the factory navigation if you chose too? I like the factory navigation for the driving instructions being replicated on the dashboard right in front on the driver's view. Is there any factory function you have lost after installation of the new screen? How about the quality of the screen and its resolution?
Thanks again


Yes you can. The new screen functions as an aux input from COMAND so you can toggle back and forth between COMAND and the Android OS.
 

Registered
current: 2014 ML350 Bluetec past: 2008 ML320 CDI 2007 R320 CDI/2005 E320 CDI
Joined
198 Posts
Thanks, this is great information. Can you still use the factory navigation if you chose too? I like the factory navigation for the driving instructions being replicated on the dashboard right in front on the driver's view. Is there any factory function you have lost after installation of the new screen? How about the quality of the screen and its resolution?
Thanks again
You don't lose any functionality of original device. As for resolution, I'd say it is better than original - for myself 'the bigger (screen) is better' :) As for navigation on Android, I am using Android auto with Google Maps but you can use any other maps. Also, voice command is working as well. Switching between Android and original device is easy - with command knob, you can select AM/FM radio for original interface or 'AUX' (or 'BT') for Android.

As I mentioned in previous post, try 8.4" screen due to it doesn't close ventilation. I should take picture and put here to give you idea about 'smaller' size of screen.
 

Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold馃槩 2013 ML500,馃榿 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
Joined
4,573 Posts
Pics would be great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Pics would be great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I bought one off Amazon yesterday -- going to try and install this week. Will document it too.

Next is the illuminated door sills I want to retrofit too that I got from a pick n pull for $10 bucks! That's a tougher job though.

Next time, I'll do the opposite of an impulse buy, and wait for the right truck with all the options

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
 

Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold馃槩 2013 ML500,馃榿 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
Joined
4,573 Posts
I bought one off Amazon yesterday -- going to try and install this week. Will document it too.

Next is the illuminated door sills I want to retrofit too that I got from a pick n pull for $10 bucks! That's a tougher job though.

Next time, I'll do the opposite of an impulse buy, and wait for the right truck with all the options

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk


What size screen did you pick up?Can you post us the link please?
Playing with the electrics can be tricky in these things.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts

Premium Member
2000 ML55 sold馃槩 2013 ML500,馃榿 2015 C250 estate wagon, 1927 Dodge 4 sedan, 1929 Dodge
Joined
4,573 Posts
This is the one I got. 8.1"

https://www.amazon.com/Android-Display-Navigation-Bluetooth-2012-2015/dp/B07PBT7BLW/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=w166+android&qid=1561142466&s=gateway&sr=8-1

And yeah, these aren't the w163's. So many electronics.

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk


Looks pretty good. I鈥檒l be interested to see if it shows the cabin temp on the bottom of the screen, I like how that stays up in my wife鈥檚 C250.
Looks like a nice fit not to big.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Registered
current: 2014 ML350 Bluetec past: 2008 ML320 CDI 2007 R320 CDI/2005 E320 CDI
Joined
198 Posts
Here is a few pictures ...In general, you have everything what you have on your Android phone.

The Android version is 7.1.1 ...

As you see the camera is also working when system is setup in 'original' mode. The size of screen is 8.4" and it doesn't go over ventilation system.
 

Attachments

Registered
current: 2014 ML350 Bluetec past: 2008 ML320 CDI 2007 R320 CDI/2005 E320 CDI
Joined
198 Posts
Looks pretty good. I鈥檒l be interested to see if it shows the cabin temp on the bottom of the screen, I like how that stays up in my wife鈥檚 C250.
Looks like a nice fit not to big.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It is showing temperature once you touch any AC button. Also, on top you can see outside temperature. Generally speaking, you shouldn't lose any functionality
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Here is a few pictures ...In general, you have everything what you have on your Android phone.



The Android version is 7.1.1 ...



As you see the camera is also working when system is setup in 'original' mode. The size of screen is 8.4" and it doesn't go over ventilation system.
Did you have to run the aux cable to the center console for the sound on the android side of the unit to work?

I'm in a pickle where everything is working on the COMAND side with the new unit, and phone calls work through the Android side, but no BT audio.

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
 

Registered
current: 2014 ML350 Bluetec past: 2008 ML320 CDI 2007 R320 CDI/2005 E320 CDI
Joined
198 Posts
Did you have to run the aux cable to the center console for the sound on the android side of the unit to work?

I'm in a pickle where everything is working on the COMAND side with the new unit, and phone calls work through the Android side, but no BT audio.

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
Yes ... I didn't know what it was cable until I got no sound :) My installer drill small hole and made it same as original.

As for BT audio, there is another forum with more details about entire process, review,....what I used to pull trigger for this installation. I didn't connect my BT audio but I could be doing so during summer months (purchased device in middle of winter and I didn't have time to configure it)

Let me dig today and send you link
 

Registered
2015 ML250 BluTec, 2002 ML 500 Sport Edition (Sold :(), 2012 C250
Joined
807 Posts
Yes ... I didn't know what it was cable until I got no sound :) My installer drill small hole and made it same as original.



As for BT audio, there is another forum with more details about entire process, review,....what I used to pull trigger for this installation. I didn't connect my BT audio but I could be doing so during summer months (purchased device in middle of winter and I didn't have time to configure it)



Let me dig today and send you link
Thank you. I'm just so confused that I was getting audio (calls + bt streaming) thru the android side without running anything to the aux input, and then bt streaming stopped working. Calls still go, which is what befuddles me.

Sent from my BlackBerry Key2 using Tapatalk
 

Registered
1992 500SL, 1999 CLK 320 conv, 2015 ML350, (2011 ML550 gone, C320 wagon gone, 2005 C240 gone)
Joined
575 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Thanks for the pics. Looks great.
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top