Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone - first time poster and a total novice / beginner with Cars but recently inherited a 95 R129 SL500 with a Bose sound system. I've read through some of the forum and saw that models with Bose systems can be a little finicky as it relates to aftermarket radio heads but I went ahead and bought this unit from crutchfields. I partially chose this unit due to the higher pre-amp output than the rest thinking I might be able to get around any issues...

Assembly was easy and I fired it up. Issue is that the bigger speaker on the drivers door now produces more static that prior (wasn't perfect prior but less noticeable). Any recommendations besides re-doing the entire audio system? Any EQ presets to play with? The OEM radio head still works but the added benefits of bluetooth really has me preferring the updated unit....

·
Registered
2002 SL500 Silver Arrow
662 Posts
fwiw - I changed to a Kenwood for all the modern conveniences since I like to road trip. Sound was horrible. Found a Pioneer with all the features I wanted plus a few new ones -- sound was much better and it was plug and play with the same harness that connected the Kenwood. So who knows?

Working on some stuff on a fellow forum member's car (not audio related) - he mentioned he was dissatisfied with the sound of his aftermarket Kenwood -- perhaps it is just one of those things between them and Bose.

·
Outstanding Contributor
2003 SL500, 2003 SL55, and four R129s
4,366 Posts
Issue is that the bigger speaker on the drivers door now produces more static that prior (wasn't perfect prior but less noticeable).
Since I studied audio engineering in school I should know what causes static but in fact I have no idea. I'd guess it isn't the speaker, but all the same I'd swap the speakers and see if the problem moves to the other door.

·
Registered
1995 SL 500 2017 AMG GLC 43
949 Posts