Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, i am new and i am doing research by reading through alot of old articles. If anyone wish to give me some advise on a purchase, please do so. :)

I am an American now living in Germany. I have been drving a company Merc for past 2 years, but i am thinking about buying a car. I am thinking of later model SLK230 or a porsche boxster, 2000+.

My sister in California has had a SLK230 for about 4 years, and i drove it over 20k miles on it myself.. i really like the car and the hardtop. however, driving it and owning is a different story.

I guess what i am looking for a few basic answers.

1. should i worry about repair cost? I have always been a honda driver, this will be my first european car that i owned.
2. what year SLK230 or 200 is best all around? (opinions obviously here)
3. in Germany, they are available in automatic or stick. I have drove a c200k with a stick for a while, and i must say, the stick totally sucked compared to a BMW or a Honda.. should i expect better on an SLK? my C220 CDI seems to have much better tranmission than the old C200sportcoupe.
4. anything special i should look for?
5. anything you would do over if you were buying another slk?

thanks in advance!!

·
Registered
SLK in brilli silver
854 Posts
dogbutter - 2/11/2005 3:14 AM

Hi all, i am new and i am doing research by reading through alot of old articles. If anyone wish to give me some advise on a purchase, please do so. :)

I am an American now living in Germany. I have been drving a company Merc for past 2 years, but i am thinking about buying a car. I am thinking of later model SLK230 or a porsche boxster, 2000+.

My sister in California has had a SLK230 for about 4 years, and i drove it over 20k miles on it myself.. i really like the car and the hardtop. however, driving it and owning is a different story.

I guess what i am looking for a few basic answers.