Mercedes-Benz Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
ML 270 CDI 2002
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

There doesn't seem to be an 'introduce yourself' section on here, so here goes. My name is Clive and I am new to Mercedes, and to the ml 270 that I have just bought. I have drive Toyota 4x4's for a few years but it is time for a change.

The current problem, or one of them, is that the AC control in the back does nothing. The power windows work fine from there so I am assuming that the wiring is OK, I have had the top of the console out and the loom is plugged in at both ends. Could there be a setting somewhere that disables this control? I have tried turning off and on aotu from the front, I have also tried enabling and disabling the rear ac from the front. All of this still leaves the rear control doing nothing. Thanks for looking.

·
Outstanding Contributor
2006 ML500 2002 ML320
17,900 Posts
You do indeed have a 2002 ML. Any ML built after 9/30/2001 is a 2002.

If your AC/Heater controls look like the photo below, there is no doubt it is a 2002.

If you have a 2002, PLEASE UPDATE YOUR PROFILE IN USER CP.

Attachments

·
Outstanding Contributor
2006 ML500 2002 ML320
17,900 Posts
Thanks, I have done the profile. I do not get the paint colour dark blue as mine is Silver, they are definately the heater and AC controls that I have though.
The other thing/s I forgot to include is that you will have to inform your insurance company of the year change and the Motor Veh. Dept.

Two things have to work to get A/C or Heat to the rear. The first would be to see if the Rear Actuator Motor operates when it is commanded. This motor opens the duct work to allow air to the rear.

Remove the cover under the left side of the Instrument Panel, set the A/C controls to distribute to the rear and see that the Rear Actuator Motor operates. If it does not it must be replaced. If it does operate then the problem is at the rear of the console. Post back with results.