Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to decide what the best step is to get my A/C system up and running on a 89 300E. I recently purchased the car and do not know the history of the A/C system, although it does not appear to have been converted. I am no expert and any tips/advice is welcome.

Currently, the A/C is not cold, but the compressor does appear to be switching on when I adjust the climate control.

I am considering whether I should convert it to R134a or use a substitute R12 product. I currently have a R134a manifold and an extra can of R134a from another vehicle. I assume there are converters for my manifold set should i stay with an r12 variant?

I currently am leaning towards checking and replacing the o-rings in all the connections and converting the system to R134a, however I do not know if there is any R12 left (no cool air). I also am planning to check the system for holding a vacuum, but should I even bother going to a shop to make sure there is no R12 left even though it is not cold?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
16,648 Posts
IF the car is still running R12 and you can procure R12 refrigerant, then that is the best way to fly.

Nothing works as good as R12 since that is what your car was designed to run.

·
Premium Member
10,055 Posts
Unless things have changed recently, Robert said you could go online, take a test to be certified in R-12 and just buy it on eBay for your best price.

Kevin

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for all the input.

I talked to a local shop for kicks and they stated R12 was not available at all....

I was under the impression you could still get it as long as you provided proof of certification? Am I confused and only products similar to R12 available and under a similar name?

Should I be replacing the drier/receiver or any other components in the process and do I need to vacuum the system before adding R12?

·
Premium Member