Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

41 - 60 of 70 Posts

Registered
W212 350CDI -09 W219 320CDI -07 Ex:W220 320CDI -01 Ex:W210 270CDI -01 EX: W211 320CDI -04
Joined
1,517 Posts
A bit progress today evening: I received refurbished ABC Control Unit from ABC Specialists Nl and changed and adapted it.

I got immediately first time more than 173 bar pressure - I got 193, which I have measured from other MB earlier, as well!

I had just removed the auxiliary pressure gauge from pressure relief valve, so there is a bit air in system. That obvioysly caused the pressure to drop temporarily, but it anyway immediately jumped back to 193 bar.

Tomorrow I'll do bleeding and we'll see!!

Looks to be very likely that the issue is close to be solved!
That's awesome! I can't understand either how control module can behave only slightly off... unless there are some bad soldering/high resistance of the sensor input circuits or control outputs/current control. But weird anyway...
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
I'm not surprised at all, after all the parts he has changed more than once, it was almost a certainty ;)

My advice now is, don't mess about Rodeo or Bleeding take it for a 50 mile round trip on some gently undulating Roads and it should sort itself out ;)
 

Registered
W212 350CDI -09 W219 320CDI -07 Ex:W220 320CDI -01 Ex:W210 270CDI -01 EX: W211 320CDI -04
Joined
1,517 Posts
what happens if you rise/lower the car? Can you get reading on range? I believe you have cheked sensors are moving ok... otherwise it is another electrical gremlin...
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #45 ·
The old one moves correctly until some 15 mins. But the new control unit us not reacting - i did not manage to get it calibrated, yet today.

Had some other tasks to do full day.
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #46 ·
When you are at "CALIBRATION", the system is planned not to allow moving the car up and down. I do not know, if the sensor voltages can be measured somewhere in STAR while raising/lowering. Anyone knows that?
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
"Actual Values" on SDS ;)

How to fix these figures best way?
I would carefully check the linkages etc (bent, lowering links fitted etc ?), and if no dice fit new height sensors ;)

You really do not wanna mess with calibration unless you absolutely have no choice ;)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #48 ·
The old box does the calibration correctly, the new box does not manage to do it. Maybe the box is not ready yet for that purpose.
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
My point is that your sensor voltages are well off, no amount of calibration will sort that out ;)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #50 ·
My point is that your sensor voltages are well off, no amount of calibration will sort that out ;)
I changed the old Control Unit back and made the calibration without any issues in two minutes: the car lifted itself to the up.most level automatically showing 0 mm travel for each plunge travel sensor and after that it went down to the low-most level. And now the figures are correct, as seen here. Then I replaced the old control unit with the new unit; and the figures remain as seen on the photo below. However, the new box will not do the calibration - just stays still; does not lift the car.

A Finnish CL600 owner is doing great job; he will send his CL's control unit box for me to test it in my car. We have similar cars, so it is expected to work well with out any adjustment even. Let's see during the week, if that works and we shall see, if the issue is in my control units.

Meanwhile I am wondering the pressure figure here - the pressure from the pump as seen on ABC pressure sensor, is never that low as 78 bar - but why I see that low value in this screen??


2684724
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
If you are doing a "calibration" in two minutes then you aren't doing it right !!

What angles are you measuring, how are you measuring it, or are you just blind guessing at all four angles ?
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
I just re read that, all you are doing is the raising / lowering actuation, that is NOT Calibrating the system ;)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #53 ·
Hi - yes, I was referring to calibration of the plunge travel sensors, which takes about two minutes. And after that the level sensors started to show correct figures, as seen on the photo.

You are right that nothing else cannot be done with the new control unit - not even that calibration of the plunge travel sensors; which I made with the old control unit. On the top most it showed 0 mm at all corners; no need to adjust any. So I assume, those are correct and OK. And this only referring to the plunge travel sensors and level sensors. They just show the correct figures without any need of adjustment.

Sure, I would like to hear what is needed to do; not only that I am not doing correctly.

I would really appreciate that information, how and what to do - and I am ready to accept that I am not doing correctly. I just say what I did.

I had also the angles on screen, but did not take photo of those. I will take within next days, when I will be at the garage again.
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
Sure, I would like to hear what is needed to do; not only that I am not doing correctly.
I know I haven't explained the chapter and verse, I answer bunches of queries every day across 3 forums trying to help folks, I also have to earn some form of living ;)

I have typed this procedure, (Calibration) many many times before. It is a ton of text to explain in enough detail, and I am very very busy right now.

If you search the Forum you will find it, Dean, @pinkster also posted a good article on how to do it ;)

The angles are not visible on screen, only the angle range that should be entered.

If you guess them and do not measure them using the proper procedure, (which is in WIS BTW), then the system knows you are guessing by other info it's getting, then the ABC ECU locks you out until you do it properly or actually manage to guess the figures correctly.

MB use a Chassis Jig and a Romess Angle Finder, us mere mortals have to use either a perfectly level pit, or a perfectly level 4 post lift, (Car must be sat with it's weight on the wheels), we need to be underneath it, then you need a really decent Angle Finder short enough to be able to measure the relevant angles at the relevant points of front lower arms and rear driveshafts, which are shown in WIS.

SDS should have WIS (and EPC) on it ;)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #55 ·
I know I haven't explained the chapter and verse, I answer bunches of queries every day across 3 forums trying to help folks, I also have to earn some form of living ;)

I have typed this procedure, (Calibration) many many times before. It is a ton of text to explain in enough detail, and I am very very busy right now.

If you search the Forum you will find it, Dean, @pinkster also posted a good article on how to do it ;)

The angles are not visible on screen, only the angle range that should be entered.

If you guess them and do not measure them using the proper procedure, (which is in WIS BTW), then the system knows you are guessing by other info it's getting, then the ABC ECU locks you out until you do it properly or actually manage to guess the figures correctly.

MB use a Chassis Jig and a Romess Angle Finder, us mere mortals have to use either a perfectly level pit, or a perfectly level 4 post lift, (Car must be sat with it's weight on the wheels), we need to be underneath it, then you need a really decent Angle Finder short enough to be able to measure the relevant angles at the relevant points of front lower arms and rear driveshafts, which are shown in WIS.

SDS should have WIS (and EPC) on it ;)
OK - I understood fully; and I have DAS and also WIS and EPC. Angle meter I can get. And I understand totally what you wrote.

Just wondering, is it really needed to do the angle calibration, as well?
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
The Angle calibration should not be needed, it only affects the Ride Heights, same procedure as Airmatic Cars.

The issue you have is that your Height Sensors are off Voltage wise, possibly bad sensors, wrong sensors (Airmatic ones), possibly bad linkages, or aftermarket lowering links ;)

I simply don't know without seeing and working on the car ;)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #57 ·
Do you mean that these Voltages are way out of that what is accepted?
These numbers are seen on screen now when the car is standing on its normal level - not raised up to 2nd or 3rd level.

2684928
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
No the ones in post #43 (with the good controller ?)
 

Registered
CL600 year 2001
Joined
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #59 ·
No the ones in post #43 (with the good controller ?)
Those values in sensor posted #43 - were there only temporarily - appeared when I tried to calibrate the sensors with the new box - it just let the car's cortners to come down, but did not list them. I managed to fix it back to correct figures with the old box (see #50), which I installed back there for a while.. Those figures remain now and looks to be OK. But the key point is that the new box does not communicate sufficiently with the car's sensors - needs obviously something more to be done. Would it be the angles to be fed in?
 

W220 Moderator
Joined
7,952 Posts
OK, some confusion there but at least I know now ;)

What do you mean it doesn't communicate with the Sensors ? I don't understand that ? ....................

If it's a later or earlier S/W or H/W Revision it may show different items or not on SDS .................

So is there actually a problem with how the car drives ?

So is the car sitting level with the new ABC Control module on it ?

Are there any Fault Codes or Dash Messages ?

(if not what is the issue) ????
 
41 - 60 of 70 Posts
Top