Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody, I have W168 A170 my problem is car is not going more than 3000 rpm. If I turn off the engine and start again it start to going more than 3000 rpm but turbo it is not active. I went to the mechanic and we connected to the diagnose it said MAF we changed after it fix just for the one day. After same again it said turbo air pressure converter, we changed. After said EGR, we changed but it still same. I cleaned the MAP sensor it still same what should I do?
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
Is the gearbox working? If it is, why do you need more than 3000 rpm?

If it’s not changing out of 2nd or 5th gear, then you need a different mechanic with a scanner that can read transmission module fault codes. A Mercedes or BMW specialist should have one.

Welcome to the forum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
For the gearbox everything is perfect. Problem is engine, sometimes it goes more than 3000 rpm. But turbo is not appear all the time unfortunetely.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
I’d like to see a video and listen to your engine while you drive it. Can you please shoot one pointed at your instrument cluster, while you rev the engine in neutral, then go for a drive to 60 km/h? Upload it to YouTube and post a link to it here.

If no video is forthcoming, all I can suggest is that you seek a second opinion from a smarter mechanic. Your current one hasn’t fixed it after 3 visits and God knows how many euros spent. You need one with experience of turbo diesels, who knows more than how to plug in a computer and replace a part.

Occasionally the ECUs on these go bad. Mine did, but only high-level scanners could detect it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hello, thanks for the reply. I will share video as soon ss posibile. Yes I need an good mechanic, I spent money for nothing. Now he say we need to change turbo. I will go to another one definetely
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I’d like to see a video and listen to your engine while you drive it. Can you please shoot one pointed at your instrument cluster, while you rev the engine in neutral, then go for a drive to 60 km/h? Upload it to YouTube and post a link to it here.

If no video is forthcoming, all I can suggest is that you seek a second opinion from a smarter mechanic. Your current one hasn’t fixed it after 3 visits and God knows how many euros spent. You need one with experience of turbo diesels, who knows more than how to plug in a computer and replace a part.

Occasionally the ECUs on these go bad. Mine did, but only high-level scanners could detect it.

These are the videos. Thank you!!
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
Wow! Thanks for the videos!

I think your A-Class sounds fine. Gets past 80 km/h and into 5th gear.

What about it are you not happy with?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
You are welcome problem is its so slow, because when I bought it was much faster. Now turbo is not working and also it is not going more than 3000 rpm and 110 km hour.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
Maybe your turbo isn’t spooling but you’re driving a little A-Class diesel. It’s not the hottest hatch on the market.

We need to wait until forrera has time to listen and offer an expert’s opinion. I think MB•Dave had a diesel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Yes I know its not fast car. But I know that it was much better in the past. Thanks for the help let's wait maybe we can take another answer from him.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
There is another thread about this limp mode and I have had the same problem. Would not rev above 3000 rpm and wastegate remains open so the turbo does not spin at all. It is not the turbo, wastegate or "transducer" that feeds vacuum to the wastegate! I had a cheap ODB scanner hooked up which showed no boost, but no error codes.
Thanks to some sound advice here I invested in an iCarsoft scanner which shows all codes, the code that shows up the most is brake sensor via CAN (so no number,) and clearing it causes the ECU to instantly enable the turbo. In my case it appears to actually be a problem with the wiring, I have removed, cleaned and reconnected most of the wires to the battery and fusebox and it has not come back so far.
You need to find someone with a Benz-specific scanner and the ability to understand it before you change anything else. A $17.00 can of contact cleaner is a lot cheaper than a new turbo, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
It is part of the turbo. In most Mercedes it is actually controlled by a vacuum signal controlled by the ECU, rather than directly by intake pressure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Thank you, most of the people say change this part what do you think? I cleaned, but in my obd II tests it say voltage problem about air pressure etc
2618739
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
That is the boost pressure sensor, I doubt it is the problem and it would bring up specific error codes if it was.
Check all your hoses. I momentarily lost my brake boost this morning and could hear a sucking sound under the dash when pressing the pedal, so I will probably replace most of my vacuum and boost lines when the weather gets a bit milder.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
We need to wait until forrera has time to listen and offer an expert’s opinion.
If he has time to respond to 4-year-old posts ...
 

·
W168, W169 Moderator
A180 CVT, A170, A190, B200
Joined
·
465 Posts
I usually jump in for the help when I have an answer ready, but unlike petrol engines, these engines are never straightforward to diagnose. I suggest before spending any money just replace that pressure sensor vacuum hose to begin with, then remove the inlet manifold and clean the carbon built up as much as you can , even if it's not the main reason for your problem but lots of lost power will be restored.
 

·
Outstanding Contributor
2002 ML320, 2003 A160, 2002 ML500, 2018 GLS350d
Joined
·
4,377 Posts
??? This thread was only started a month ago...
Yes, and the bumped thread below this one was dead and buried. So the living threads need more attention, which you have now received.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top