Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
95 E320 Special Edition
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm an aspiring diy mechanic and this is not my proudest moment.

So last night my friend recommended using engine degreaser and rinsing the it off with water while the engine was running to clean up some oil that I spilled (another embarassing story). He has an associate's in Automotive Technology.
So I play along with a terrible feeling about this because I know the m104 has the recessed spark plug holes and I know the metal plate covering them is NOT sealed. All was well until I restarted the car to drive to the store. This terrible rumbling shook the entire car. This has happened before when I first start the car but only for a couple seconds. This time it was so much worse. This time it happened the whole time the car ran. When I stepped on the throttle, when I let off the throttle, under (almost) wide open throttle. Our theories flew back and forth- maybe it was from the 1/2 quart of ATF I ran in the oil for 40 miles. Maybe it was much worse...
I drove to and from work today- about 50 miles- and the car shook and had very little power. I come home and checked the spark plugs because it felt like a misfire.
I pulled off the wire on the second farthest plug and there is water in the tube! I pulled the back wire and again there is WATER that smelled an awful lot like engine degreaser. So, noticing there were rain clouds coming, I covered the area with a garbage bag leaving the two wires out of the tubes and closed the hood in a safe manner.
My question is: any advice about drying the area out? How should I handle this? I left the spark plugs themselves untouched for fear of getting water in the combustion chamber.
Also the 4 other plugs looked a lot like the attached picture. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
1990 300E
746 Posts