Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2002 CLK320
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I have a 2002 CLK320 with 130,000 miles on it. I live in Phoenix AZ where the temperature is hovering around 100 these days. The car is not overheating. The temperature gauge stays around 90. I changed the thermostat about 6 months ago and flushed the coolant.

Please understand that I'm a backyard mechanic so if I state something incorrectly please forgive me. I have scoured the forums looking for information and found many great posts. Unfortunately for me, they seem to contradict each other sometimes so I'm not sure what to do. I've found items related to the fans, DUOVALVE, Aux Circulation Pump, Freon, etc. All seem logical.

PROBLEM: My A/C suddenly started blowing hot air. The error I got on the EC readout was related to the Aux Circulation Pump, error code B1416. I don't want to buy the part until I can confirm that's definitely the problem. Maybe it's been bad for a while? I don't know how to test it.

TESTING SO FAR:

1. FUSES: All fuses look good

2. ELECTRONIC FAN: Fan runs fine

3. AC COMPRESSOR: Clutch seems to be spinning whenever the engine is on. I don't hear it going on and off.

4. SENSORS: I ran two EC tests to get the sensor codes. The first time I pulled the codes the car had been running about an hour. The second time I pulled the codes the car had been running about 20 minutes. (Also, I pulled the codes first thing in the morning after the car sat all night. I couldn't get any codes to show up)

Here are the results from the two tests:

SENSOR 1ST TEST 2ND TEST
1 102 102
2 103 103
3 143 104
4 116 105
5 115 101
6 171 194
7 11 9
8 114 111
9 0 0
10 6.0 6.0
20-23 0 0,
24 12.1 12.1
40 8 8
41 5 5
42 248 248
43 14 14

The EC display showed error code: E 61 416, which I understand translates to B1416 - Auxiliary Circulation Pump.

4. TESTS: