Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
Mercedes/BMW/Ferrari
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering if the Airbag/steering wheel from 95 E420 fit a 1986..Have a spare Burlwood/leather wheel & Airbag an dthinking on using in my 86 560sec...
Thanks

·
Registered
1993 300TE, 1995 E320 Wagon
1,895 Posts
Umm... Nope, it's hopeless-- and you'll just have to give it to me for my '90 560.

So, the real answer is yes, it will fit spot on, and I'd bet it would look and feel excellent. Lucky you-- I've been hoping to land a burl wheel for the past four years!

·
Registered
1987 SEC 560 43,000 miles. Origionally sold in Hong Kong.
141 Posts
I too am desperate to get a smaller, thicker, better looking steering wheel for my 87 SEC. Please can someone confirm that a W124 wheel airbag can be connected to the 126 electrics to activate it in an accodent.

tks

·
CH4S Admin , Outstanding Contributor
1985 500SEC, 1991 190E 2.6.
40,757 Posts
I assume you know the SEC has a smaller steering wheel than the sedan...
If I remember correctly, SEC = 39 cm, Sedan = 41 cm.
I actually went through the wrecking yard with a measuring tape....
The W201 sportline wheel might fit, pretty sure re W124 sportline.
Does anyone know whether the W124 CE coupe's sportline steering wheel is smaller then the coupe's?

·
Premium Member
Mercedes/BMW/Ferrari
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
well I managed to fit the 95 W124 Burlwood/Leather wheel and airbag to the 86 560sec. Seems to be all in order no SRS light, no codes stored, but I cannot confirm the SRS works properly. Perhaps someone else can chime in for that.But it does physically fit and connect up properly.

·
Registered
1993 300TE, 1995 E320 Wagon
1,895 Posts