Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a E320 that uses the plastic rotary switch on the left hand side of the steering wheel to switch between different headlight settings. Due to whoever's ingenius idea it was to put a plastic knob on top of a metal switch, the plastic has since worn away with time and now it just turns without actually TURNING the metal switch in the inside of the headlight switch box.

I currently am absent money without the means to buy a new switch, is there any work around for turning on/off the headlights on the car, wiring or otherwise.

NOTE: I have a degree in computer engineering and know my way around wiring and the what not, just have not been able to find the wiring diagrams to properly map out a way to hotwire/bypass it, etc.

Any help on this issue would be great, thanks.

·
Registered
1991 300E
601 Posts
I may be misunderstanding your question, but jamming a temporary replacement knob onto the switch would seem a simple solution. Radio Shack will have them.

Completing your profile would be helpful. It might enable someone to point you to a local parts garden.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I may be misunderstanding your question, but jamming a temporary replacement knob onto the switch would seem a simple solution. Radio Shack will have them.

Completing your profile would be helpful. It might enable someone to point you to a local parts garden.
As I've stated above, I have no money. Not to get personal or anything but I don't want to be trolled.

I was laid off of my job 2 months ago, just finally signed a contract for a new salary position. I have just enough money to live off of till I get my first paycheck, nothing more.

It's electrical, there has to be a workaround for it. I've been unable to turn the knob with pliers or a gerber, is there anything I can do to hotwire this action internally?

·
Registered
89 300E; 00 E320
2,511 Posts