Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone. I'm new to these ol mercedes land yachts and have an issue I need help with. I have a 90 560SEL with the 5.6 v8 and have no spark to dizzy cap. Cap, rotor, and ignition coil are brand new.

The rotor in dizzy is spinning as it should. There is power to coil that I can see using a test light.

Any clue as to what I should be looking for? If there is power to the ignition coil then can I assume the control module is bad?

Thanks.

-Chris

·
SuperModerator
1986/1990 W126
13,367 Posts
Welcome Chris.

There's a green wire that needs to be attached to underneath the distributor. Is that intact?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome Chris.

There's a green wire that needs to be attached to underneath the distributor. Is that intact?
Negative. I do not see any green wire. I pulled the distributor out at one point, where does that wire come from and where would it connect? It seems the distributor has no electronics

·
Registered
1991 560sec. 1969 280SL
971 Posts
If you have spark from the coil then the problem is either a bad cap and or rotor. The button in the center of the inside of the distributor cap is probably perished.

·
Registered
1991 560sec. 1969 280SL
971 Posts
With a multi meter do a continuity test on the rotor from center of rotor to the tip and also on the cap from inside center to the outside where the coil wire goes into the cap.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
With a multi meter do a continuity test on the rotor from center of rotor to the tip and also on the cap from inside center to the outside where the coil wire goes into the cap.
So now that I'm digging into again, it's got no spark from the ignition coil actually. Someone lead me in the right direction

·
Registered
1990 420 SEC
105 Posts