Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently replaced my alternator after my car died however it is still not changing. The battery Is not very old and tests fine so I’m assuming it’s an electric issue. I’m not an expert so I was wondering if anyone had any insight on what could be wrong

·
Premium Member
6,730 Posts
  1. first, when you turn the ignition on before starting the engine, does the ALT/BATT light on the dashboard light up? if that ligth doesn't come on, there's no D+ current, and the alternator won't work.
  2. if it does light up, now start the engine, does that ALT/BATT light go out ? if it stays on, something is wrong with the alternator.
  3. pretty much everything else requires a volt meter to test... borrow a digital multimeter if you don't have one, or get one, they are really cheap now.
  4. measure the battery voltage with the car switched off. if the battery is fully charged and has been resting an hour or so, you should see about 12.6 volts. start the car, and you should see at least 13.8 volts, if you, the battery should be charging.
  5. on the back side of the right hand spring tower, just forward of the battery, there's a 3 terminal connector block, 1 thin connector on the far right side, and a fat stud in the middle and left side (left vs right applies to the CAR, not to you as you face this from in front). ignition off, measure the voltage from that small stud to one of the ground bolts on top of the spring tower. should be 0 volts. turn ignition on without starting car, now you should read somethign around 5-9 volts at that smaller screw relative to ground. this is that same D+ circuit. there should be 2 not-very-fat wires going to that small screw, one comes from the dashboard 'battery' light, and the other goes to the D+ terminal on the actual alternator.