Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1987 260e, 1998 VW glx vr6 vento
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi yall, I have just found your forums and am at a breaking point. My car is dead in the water and this is my daily driver. Here are symptoms leading upt to the problem and the problem at hand. Any advice would truly be apprecieted bare in mind I can do the work, but will need some guidance.

Ok have had to start adding oil about every 300 miles light turns on when breaking and turning. Add oil everything ok. Idle has been heavy and getting worse finally caused th car to die. It also had a really heavy shake prior to its death. The car still starts and drives, but is starting to die. I can drive on the freeway fine its just in town where the problems are huge. I love this car and can not afford to pay a shop to fix this. They said it is probably a valve issue, so 2000 grand is not a good answer.

Any help would be great. Like I said I am no mechanic, but have done alot of work to my old truck. I can do the work just need help.

Also am smelling some gas

·
W124 Moderator
86 190E 2.3L 16V, 2 95 320TE's, 02 S500
12,696 Posts
Kewr,

Welcome to the forum. You'll find this a great place to learn about your car. It is going to help us tremendously, in helping you, if you'll fill out your profile. Let us know more about your car, it's history, what has been done to it, miles and so on. You may also have another forum near you that could help out or direct you towards someone who could.

That said, it sounds to me that your O2 sensor has reached the end of it's life. You'll find it located under the car, on the exhaust pipe ahead of the cat, passenger side. You can get a bosch unit that is intended for a 90's V6 Chrysler mini van and splice it into your MB connector. The connector is located under the front passenger carpet and exits the car where the tranny tunnel meets the floor pan. It should have a vivid blue plactic shielding around it.