Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this.

I seached for and followed the post below to take out the fuel sending unit and cleaned it with brake parts cleaner.

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w123-e-ce-d-cd-td/1401434-cleaned-fuel-sending-unit-today.html

When I re installed the unit, the gauge on the dash does not read anything. The unit had a lot of bulid up on it and was restricting the float from moving upward. The float now moves up and down.

Prior to this the unit would move from just ove 1/2 to about 1/4. I never let the tank get to low of fuel so I am not sure on the full range of the gauge prior.

I checked the contectors on the top of the Fuel Sending unit and they look fine.

Thanks

·
Registered
1980 Mercedes 240D, 1988 Acura Legend Coupe 5MT
13 Posts
Are you sure that the float is following the three little metal wires all the way up and down?

Also just wiggle the wires and connector with the key in the on position to see if it starts reading. It sounds like a connection issue.

·
Registered
'89 300TE, '79 450SL, '01 ML320
1,051 Posts
Did you clean and replace the discs on the bottom correctly so that fuel is able to enter the tube?
Fuel has to be able to pass thru that 'maze' in the bottom, also be sure it's not sitting in a
pile of tank mud in the bottom of the tank :)

Fish

·
Registered
2014 Mercedes-Benz GLK250 Bluetec, 1981 Mercedes-Benz 300D W123
600 Posts