Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
1973 450SL
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I slowly make progress on my '73 SL, we've come up against a pretty bad rough running, black smoke situation. I'm NOT a mechanic, but do have a young friend who is a Nissan tech, VW tuner guy that helps me out frequently.

The car was not run for several years, other than to load and unload from my trailer recently.

Symptoms: starts quickly, but idles & runs rough. Pretty high amount of black exhaust.
What we've done so far:
  • New spark plugs, plug wires, cap, rotor, points, coil, ballast resistor.
  • Compression tests fine: about 120 across all cylinders.
  • Fuel injectors were tested and ultrasonic cleaned. One was bad, replaced with new.
  • Vacuum hose appears good between intake manifold & valve & distributor.
None of that seems to have helped, or made any difference.

Seeking assistance, bright ideas?

·
Premium Member
'72 350SL, '85 300D, '98 E320, '19 Subaru Outback (sold '14 GLK250)
10,557 Posts
Two things. Check that trigger points are not worn (They probably are). Test the temperature sensors and make sure they are properly connected. Read Comprehensive Guide by Proctologist in EGv107 Djet section. VW/Nissan and even today's MB mechanics are not likely to know anything about these old Djets :)

·
Registered
1973 450SL
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ah, I overlooked that guide. Thank you...

·
Registered
1973 450SL
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, we checked the trigger points, appear to be like new. Checked both coolant temp sensors, test ok. Still running very rich... My modern mechanics are struggling with the D-Jet, and can't figure it out... 🙁

·
Premium Member
10,557 Posts
Well, we checked the trigger points, appear to be like new. Checked both coolant temp sensors, test ok. Still running very rich... My modern mechanics are struggling with the D-Jet, and can't figure it out... 🙁