Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, brand new member here. Just purchased a 72 350SL in great shape but with the following mechanical problem:

Car starts up fine. Drives like a pig when cold, with lots of black smoke. I drove the car 500 miles home. Once it warmed up it seemed to run perfectly. I suspected a tune-up (cap, rotor, points, plugs) which I have performed with no difference. Plugs were badly fouled (black, sometimes wet with gas, not burnt). Seems to be sending excess fuel to the cylinders when idling and/or cold. I guess I'm looking at the fuel system now. I'm not an expert but this appears to be throttle-body type FI. Any ideas on where to start looking (typical problem areas etc.). It would be much appreciated so I can avoid spinning my wheels as much as possible.

Cheers!
Robert
Vancouver, Canada

·
Outstanding Contributor , Bob's Your Uncle!
83 280 SL- 5 speed-The PIG
31,402 Posts
Hello Vancouver! I am typing this in Barrie ,Ontario. I would highly suspect your Warm Up Regulater or also known as a Control pressure regulator. It is like a mechanical computer for the injection system. It works with heat, vacuum and has a two wire pigtail plugged into it for the element inside. If this is wonky, it will provide the symptoms you are experiencing. I would first check the connection from the wiring harness. Mine had rotted off and was not getting the juice it needed. I am no expert, but sounds exactly what I had. Oh ya, they are about $1200.00 CAD at MB or $245.00 US at GERMANSTAR(re-manufactured.). Just don't ship UPS or you will be bending over for the broker fees.Good luck.

·
Registered
1989 560 sl
33 Posts
Would this Control pressure regulator also cause the car not to start? I talked to a merceded mechanic yesterday, he is leaning to that on my mercedes but that was just over the phone. where is the regulator located and how would I check it?

Ronnir

·
Premium Member