Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
ML320 2003 VW CC 2010
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I got this 500 and it was sitting for about 10 years. Needed a new fuel pump, fuel filter, oil change, new petrol and spark plugs. When I first spin the car over it starts for a second and dies. It does this a few times then finally starts, runs for like 5 min then slowly starts to die and finaly shuts off. As the engine heats up smoke starts to come out of both sides of the motor near the exhaust pipes. The vavle covers were leakin oil when I first got the car so I'm assumin that's what causes the smoke. I do notice when the smoke gets intense is right when the car shuts off. This is my first petrol car all my other Benz are diesel so I'm new to this kinda engine. All help is appreciated

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Year? Location? On a cold day even a perfectly running engine needs extra fuel. Yours seems way lean at first, then ok, then it either goes way lean or way rich. Fix the valve cover gaskets.

·
Registered
ML320 2003 VW CC 2010
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Year? Location? On a cold day even a perfectly running engine needs extra fuel. Yours seems way lean at first, then ok, then it either goes way lean or way rich. Fix the valve cover gaskets.
its an 1985 and Im in PA reading area. The valve cover issue is fixed as far as i can tell. There was new gasket with the car when I bought it. New gasket has been put on the car. The fuel i put in was just the cheap 89 octane i believe. I have heard that these engines like higher octane like 93. could that be a reason for this issue?

·
Registered
1984 500SEL
91 Posts