Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1986 420SEL
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just got the old girl out and guess what. Dead battery. Wouldn't take a charge so put a new one in. Now I have a buzzing sound and it took forever for the car to start. Got it started and I hear a clicking noise from the head. I am no mechanic, so I figured it must be lack of lube since it has been sitting all winter. Well it clanked for a little bit, now is gone. But Now the car will not accelerate. It will idle but every time I depress the pedal it bogs right out. This car has 283K on it. How much am I going to have to put into her or am I better off parting it out. The body is in good shape and it seems to be alright. But I need some help here and would greatly appreciate the knowledge from some of the users on this board. I have looked at search and have not really found what I am looking for. Any help??

·
Registered
1988 560SEL sold:
4,717 Posts
How did it run before 'hibernation'?

Regarding no acceleration, it sounds like something is clogged in the exhaust. It could be clogged catalytic converter but if it ran fine before winter, then that's quite unlikely...

A 'wild' (pun intended[:eek:)]) scenario:
Seeking refuge from brutal Michigan winter, a mouse found an exhaust pipe that was still toasty after the final outing, and decided to build a nest in the exhaust pipe...

It just might be plausible. When I took the rear seat out to repair the rear recliner, I found a lot of mouse poop under the seat even though there was hardly any food particle there.

·
Registered
1980 300sd, 1998 e320
73 Posts