Mercedes-Benz Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
mk3 jetta, '76 f250 hi-boy
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I'm new to unimogs, and am interested in restoring a 416 Doka. What are your guys' thoughts on price. I am located in Wa, I don't want a completely rusted out junker, but something that needs a frame-off performed. Any suggestions on where to find, average price, what to look for/stay away from, would be greatly appreciated! Not in any rush, just trying to do as much homework as possible.

·
Registered
'78 Mog 416.141 DoKa
3,417 Posts
I don't know what prices are like now but it's probably a good time to buy a DoKa. I'm sure they've come down quite a bit.

Trouble with buying a Doka is most owners won't get rid of them, no matter what the price.

·
Registered
mk3 jetta, '76 f250 hi-boy
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies! Anybody have an opinion on if picking up a doka cab first and worrying about a 416 chassis later, is a smart move, or should I keep my eyes peeled for a complete truck a wiser decision. I know Von has a fair share of experience in this area, maybe he'll share some insight. Thanks again everyone!
The more I read the various Unimog forums, the more apparent it becomes how close knit this group is! I've been on lots of other truck forums, but none seem this friendly and eager to help one another!! Kudos!!

·
Registered
'78 Mog 416.141 DoKa
3,417 Posts
If you really want a 4-door 2nd Gen Diesel Mog but find a straight, rust free body (and doors) first, buy it. The body is the hard part.

Almost any old chassis can become a DoKa and nobody will be the wiser.

·
Registered
1978 416.115
1,035 Posts
If you really want a 4-door 2nd Gen Diesel Mog but find a straight, rust free body (and doors) first, buy it. The body is the hard part.

Almost any old chassis can become a DoKa and nobody will be the wiser.
Von's brown mog was "made" that way. Found a DoKa cab and put it on a CASE.